Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

APX Control Head Sync

Covering the following Subscriber devices: APX1000/1500, APX3000, APX4000/4500, APX6000, APX6000XE, APX6500, APX7000, APX7000XE, APX7000L, APX7500, and APX8000.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
n9upw
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:55 am

APX Control Head Sync

Postby n9upw » Tue Jun 13, 2017 6:51 pm

Is there a control head sync file for the APX series like there was for the ASTRO25 series mobiles? I've got a dash mount APX6500 that is showing FL 01/90 and then goes into maintenance mode. I am able to read/write to the radio through the rear accessory port. I even did a firmware refresh to 16.12 through the rear accessory port and still no luck on communication with the head. I am able to put the CH in flashzap mode manually and my computer recognizes the head. Just wondered if there was a sync file I could try before I send this off to the depot.

sjxts3000
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: APX Control Head Sync

Postby sjxts3000 » Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:37 pm

Just out of curiosity, what control head are you using and is the radio an "Li" model? (If so, it'll only with with an O2, O3, and O5 head...no O7 or O9 support in "Lite" models)

User avatar
n9upw
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:55 am

Re: APX Control Head Sync

Postby n9upw » Wed Jun 14, 2017 2:03 pm

Sorry, should have mentioned that in my original post. It's not an LI model. Using an O5 head. Radio has been installed in a squad car for about 6 months with no issues. Went to the city garage for an oil change and came back with FL 01-90 error.

User avatar
Code3
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 8:54 pm

Re: APX Control Head Sync

Postby Code3 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 5:15 pm

APX mobiles automatically upload the appropriate control head firmware when the head is plugged into the radio for the first time if it is incompatible or out of date. You could try syncing it to an XTL5000, and then re-syncing it to the APX, but I'm going to guess the head is pooched. If you are getting an 01-90 error, the head is not seeing the drawer. Does the drawer have power?

User avatar
n9upw
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:55 am

Re: APX Control Head Sync

Postby n9upw » Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:07 pm

Code3 wrote:You could try syncing it to an XTL5000, and then re-syncing it to the APX, but I'm going to guess the head is pooched.


That's what I kind of figured. I have even tried a known working flex and still a no go.


Code3 wrote:Does the drawer have power?


Yes, I power to the drawer. I'm able to program through the rear accessory port just fine and it even receives on the talk group it was left on when the vehicle was last shut off.

John
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX Control Head Sync

Postby John » Sat Jun 17, 2017 5:13 pm

Have you tried another head or replacing the control cable?

John

wa6ylb
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 1:33 pm

Re: APX Control Head Sync

Postby wa6ylb » Thu Jun 22, 2017 3:09 pm

The 01-90 error is telling you that the trunk unit isn't talking to the control head. Typically, the remote trunk portion doesn't have power on it. The control head does.
B.

User avatar
n9upw
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:55 am

Re: APX Control Head Sync

Postby n9upw » Sat Jun 24, 2017 6:53 am

Yep, tried a known working O5 head from an XTL and still getting the same error. Off to the depot it goes. I'll report back what was wrong when it gets returned.


John wrote:Have you tried another head or replacing the control cable?

John

John
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX Control Head Sync

Postby John » Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:29 am

Since the error indicates the head is not talking to the radio and more than one head are doing it, I would suggest trying a different cable also. Probably not the issue but a lot easier than pulling it for repair.

John

User avatar
n9upw
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:55 am

Re: APX Control Head Sync

Postby n9upw » Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:41 am

Its a dash mount

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1828
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: APX Control Head Sync

Postby motorola_otaku » Tue Jun 27, 2017 5:19 pm

I'm sure you already knew this but only black-face O5 heads will sync with an APX. Older gray-face heads will just sit there in maintenance mode and not suck down firmware from the brick.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

User avatar
n9upw
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:55 am

Re: APX Control Head Sync

Postby n9upw » Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:28 am

Yep, it was a working black O5 head. Well, just got the radio back from the depot. Since the new computer system has been in effect, the paperwork I have been getting back with radios has been vague. The sheet I got back with the radio simply says "replaced accessory kit, APX. Performed complete PM"

Not sure what an APX accessory kit is?


motorola_otaku wrote:I'm sure you already knew this but only black-face O5 heads will sync with an APX. Older gray-face heads will just sit there in maintenance mode and not suck down firmware from the brick.


Return to “APX Series Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest