Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Apx4000xe

Covering the following Subscriber devices: APX1000/1500, APX3000, APX4000/4500, APX6000, APX6000XE, APX6500, APX7000, APX7000XE, APX7000L, APX7500, and APX8000.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
itjisfo
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2001 4:00 pm

Apx4000xe

Postby itjisfo » Tue Jul 04, 2017 4:43 am

Anyone have any info on the programming cable for the apx4000xh model??

It will not program with either of my cables I was told there is a grounding issue in these radio that require different cable

Any help would be great

User avatar
OCSD117
was RPDM313
Posts: 588
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:52 am
What radios do you own?: XTL2500, APX3000, APX7000

Re: Apx4000xe

Postby OCSD117 » Tue Jul 04, 2017 6:08 am

I have had a 4k XE model and programmed it with the Motorola apx cable just fine. Are you using a real moto cable?
Carlwood Lipton: [real life interview with Lipton where he recites a quote from William Shakespeare] From this day to the ending of the world we in it shall be remembered. We lucky few, we band of brothers. For he who today sheds his blood with me shall be my brother.

User avatar
itjisfo
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Apx4000xe

Postby itjisfo » Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:19 am

Yes 2 real moto cables I have also programmed 4000's before but a friend said because these are intrinsically safe model there is no ground on the outside case where the antenna connections are on normal apx radios

User avatar
itjisfo
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Apx4000xe

Postby itjisfo » Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:23 am

This is a XH model apx4000

sjxts3000
Posts: 801
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: Apx4000xe

Postby sjxts3000 » Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:45 am

itjisfo wrote:This is a XH model apx4000

Doesn't matter... the 4000 XE and XH models use the same CPS software and same programming cable as all other APX portables.

intel861
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 7:22 am

Re: Apx4000xe

Postby intel861 » Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:02 am

What is the part number of the cable you are using? We had an issue with reading the 4000s and found if we were using the "B" revision cable, it worked fine.

resqguy911
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:35 pm

Re: Apx4000xe

Postby resqguy911 » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:36 am

sjxts3000 wrote:
itjisfo wrote:This is a XH model apx4000

Doesn't matter... the 4000 XE and XH models use the same CPS software and same programming cable as all other APX portables.


I'm pretty sure you need a B revision cable to program any of the radios that don't have external RF connectors such as the 4000XH and the second gen XPRs.
"TDMA = digital and same great taste, half the bits"

otter9309
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Apx4000xe

Postby otter9309 » Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:20 am

Correct, it has to be a "b" revision or later cable to work.

Wiregeek
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Apx4000xe

Postby Wiregeek » Thu Jul 06, 2017 11:15 am

The next time I see one of these I'm going to try throwing a nonconductive barrier on the top three pins - they're not used for CPS, just for tuning, AFAIK

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1833
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: Apx4000xe

Postby motorola_otaku » Thu Jul 06, 2017 3:40 pm

Wiregeek wrote:...the top three pins - they're not used for CPS, just for tuning, AFAIK

RF alignment is done through the antenna connector. The RF pins on the accessory connector are only used for RSMs.

APX8000 portables use a recessed pin-type RF side connector similar to the old XTS RF adapter, for connecting to the vehicular adapter.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind


Return to “APX Series Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest