Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Apx cloning

Covering the following Subscriber devices: APX1000/1500, APX3000, APX4000/4500, APX6000, APX6000XE, APX6500, APX7000, APX7000XE, APX7000L, APX7500, and APX8000.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

jackd
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 1:20 pm

Apx cloning

Postby jackd » Thu Aug 31, 2017 11:40 am

how do I clone my apx6000 to my apx4000 uhf 2
john delorey

sjxts3000
Posts: 780
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: Apx cloning

Postby sjxts3000 » Thu Aug 31, 2017 1:15 pm

Cloning can only be done on two similar model radios with similar flashcodes.

Straight from the CPS help...

Cloning is only possible between radios with identical Model Numbers.

Only radios with compatible FLASHcodes can be cloned; "compatible FLASHcodes" refers to the target radio having a FLASHcode that is equal-to or greater-than the FLASHcode of the source radio / codeplug. “Greater-than” refers to the source codeplug’s “In Use” FLASHcode Feature Set being a sub-set of the target radio’s “Purchased” FLASHcode Feature Set.


So basically, the best you can do is drag-n-drop from one code plug to another to get most of the settings to carry over. You'll get a lot of errors when doing this from a 6000 to a 4000. Example, max Tx power isn't the same, etc.

jackd
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 1:20 pm

Re: Apx cloning

Postby jackd » Thu Aug 31, 2017 1:34 pm

How about dropping the channels in
john delorey

sjxts3000
Posts: 780
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: Apx cloning

Postby sjxts3000 » Thu Aug 31, 2017 2:00 pm

jackd wrote:How about dropping the channels in

Like I said...Drag-n-drop.

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7311
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Apx cloning

Postby wavetar » Fri Sep 01, 2017 2:57 am

Drag N Drop is good, especially when you are transferring specific items from one radio to another. If you're transferring pretty much everything (button configs, menu items, display settings, audio profiles, etc, etc) from one to another, the Import/Export feature is the way to do it. There are a few things I learned on the way to use it better (such as don't import the radio wide fields between a portable & mobile...messes up the power levels). If I'm working with a brand new 'blank' codeplug, before I import the 'built' codeplug export, I name all the default zones/personalities/systems/lists/emerg profiles/etc "delete". Then after importing, it's easy to go through & delete them all, leaving just the imported fields in the codeplug. Takes literally 5-10 minutes to transfer even the most complicated of codeplugs over.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.


Return to “APX Series Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest