Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

PSC9600 Questions

Moderator: Queue Moderator

kj4bnd
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:10 am

PSC9600 Questions

Postby kj4bnd » Tue Oct 13, 2015 10:22 am

I have two PSC9600 controllers, associated repeaters, frequency space...

I am assuming I need yet another controller for those PSC9600's to talk to. Such as an astro server.. astro express ARC4000 etc..

Does anyone have any experience or a part number to quote to "M"?
I have had a visit from my local rep and we've been on the line with the engineer who was fairly helpful in making sure I had all of the required hardware, but that's as far as the information went.

I've been able to read the controllers with CSS and connect with SWDL. But that is all I can do.. There is no where to turn Radio ID's on and Off, or Talk Groups on or off and set Priorities to them. This is where im drawing the blank. What else do I need ??

Thanks Much

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: PSC9600 Questions

Postby d119 » Tue Oct 20, 2015 8:23 am

You can run the PSC9600 in single site mode, you're just going to be in "Site Trunking". This equipment is from the ASTRO 6.x time period, and as such requires Quantar stations with later rev SCM's and a special wireline board that contains an ethernet port on it that the PSC9600 interfaces to.

kj4bnd
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:10 am

Re: PSC9600 Questions

Postby kj4bnd » Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:52 pm

d119 wrote:You can run the PSC9600 in single site mode, you're just going to be in "Site Trunking". This equipment is from the ASTRO 6.x time period, and as such requires Quantar stations with later rev SCM's and a special wireline board that contains an ethernet port on it that the PSC9600 interfaces to.



Ok.. So how do i get it into "Site Trunking" mode and how do i add and remove ID Numbers? I can read it with CSS All day long and i can configure the Frequencies and i can do the same with the associated quantars. I just have no clue where to configure the controller to say "Hey this is a good talk group or not" or "Hey this is a good radio ID or not" I obviously have the IP Addresses of my quantars and the two controllers. is there a web site etc...

I havent even seen the SYS ID anywhere when i read it. Im just stuck and the guys in IL just say "Yep it should work with what you have" followed by "We should send out a rep to configure everything for you and manage your system" I've administered several older privacy plus systems back in the day. This guy just has me stumped. ( I will say i like being able to program my frequencies in myself instead of having to get a new eprom like back then.. )

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1832
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: PSC9600 Questions

Postby motorola_otaku » Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:35 pm

Site Trunking is basically a transparent repeater state - the system just repeats the TGID and RID the subscriber gives it. Or to put it another way, every possible RID and every possible TGID is active. To actually have some level of supervisory control you need a master site.

I'm only familiar with 7.x but there has to be somewhere in the controller to define the SID, WACN, and control channels.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

kj4bnd
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:10 am

Re: PSC9600 Questions

Postby kj4bnd » Tue Nov 03, 2015 4:19 pm

Alright,

I have the site up and in site trunking. It is radiating the control channel. I can key up get the talk permit tone. But audio doesn't pass. I've got the radios looking for C4FM as that is the only available option on the attached stations. I have looked at the sub band and..

I am thinking I have a mismatch between my CC. This is a VHF system and Im not familiar with the Astro 25 Channel ID and offsets. I've made many assumptions. I have however not been able to pass audio.

Any ideas?

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: PSC9600 Questions

Postby d119 » Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:37 am

You need to do research on OBT (Other Band Trunking, meaning VHF and UHF) and the offsets and whatnot. That's why you aren't getting any traffic through the repeaters. It's NOT like 800 or 900MHz trunking, where there is an FCC assigned channel number for each frequency.

In OBT, the subscriber radio is programmed with a "base" frequency, and when the radios are assigned a voice channel, the central tells the radio "your voice frequency is "x" number of channel (frequency) steps off the "base" frequency.

Or something like that.

I've always dealt with the infrastructure side of OBT, and have done very little with the subscriber side... Someone always handed me a completed codeplug for whatever subscriber work I was doing.

Hope some of this helps. If I'm incorrect on any of the above, someone please pipe up. Last thing I want to do is give misinformation.

ccip4911
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:31 pm

Re: PSC9600 Questions

Postby ccip4911 » Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:25 pm

How were you able to get them to all link together? I'm having an issue with the quantars talking to the psc9600 controllers


Return to “Smartnet/Smartzone/Project 25 (Phase I/II) Systems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest