Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

MCC7500 Questions

Discussion about Centracom (Button & LED / CRT / Gold / Elite), MC Series (MC5500/7100/7500), and legacy console equipment.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

dasuriano
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:34 am

MCC7500 Questions

Postby dasuriano » Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:51 pm

We're looking at taking advantage of some added technology in our dispatch center. We run a P25 VHF conventional network that is scheduled to be upgraded to either a simulcast P25 conventional network or the state 700mhz network. We're in the process of transitioning from XTS3000s and Astro Spectras to the APX series. We have several things that we are looking at enabling.

All new APXs are being ordered with AES and our consoles are already equipped with it. We currently have a wonky setup where the consoles are patched into a phone line to record the radio audio. Not our setup, but what we are stuck with at the moment. But it seems that we cannot do secure from the console when there is an active patch. Or is there a way to enable that?

We also are trying to utilize the GPS features of the radios, but when we do so, the consoles cannot hear us. We noticed mostly with encryption on, but it does the same in the clear. As of right now, we do not have a way to view the GPS data, but are looking into that as well. The other radios could hear each other fine, it was just the console that had issues.

We are also trying to use statuses as well. Is there a way to get them to make some sort of audible alert on the screen? It displays what we want, but unless the dispatcher is staring at the unit activity window, they're getting missed.

Jim202
Posts: 3485
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: MCC7500 Questions

Postby Jim202 » Sat Sep 09, 2017 2:21 pm

Please don't take this the wrong way, but there are a number of details that would help to determine what your problems might be and some steps to take to trying to resolve your issues.

First of all, it would help if people knew where your located.

Next it would help to know what radio system your talking about.

Do you have any idea what version software and firmware your consoles are using?

Some features in the radios are dependent on both the firmware and software version the radios have installed in them.

Some solutions take the understanding of what you have to see if what your asking for is able to be accomplished without changes to the equipment you have.

Jim

dasuriano
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:34 am

Re: MCC7500 Questions

Postby dasuriano » Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:12 pm

I'd rather not mention what system it is, but we are located in NJ. I'll have to leave that part vague. But I can tell you that our system is outdated, hence our planned upgrade. We are running Quantars for our base radios as well as repeaters.

Versions are Elite R7.16.56.00. And MCC 7500 R16.56.00.


Return to “Consoles”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests