Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Tone Remote Desk Phone Intercom

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Forum rules
Share your enhancements here! What is not permitted is the discussion regarding adding features (aka flash options) which you can still purchase from Motorola for current subscriber products including discussion regarding Depot on current products.
User avatar
Hoseman292
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 1:37 pm
What radios do you own?: too many

Tone Remote Desk Phone Intercom

Postby Hoseman292 » Thu Feb 11, 2016 8:52 pm

Years ago I witnessed a friend use a Motorola Desk Phone Tone Remote Controller (Model T1383??)
as a household intercom.
Image
If I wanted to place one of these devices on each floor of my home (3) how would I accomplish this using the Yellow/Black pair existing telephone wiring?
Would a small amplifier be required?

Any wiring information would be greatly appreciated.
Batboard $upporter
________________________________________
Hoseman292@aol.com

RFguy
Posts: 1294
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:17 am

Re: Tone Remote Desk Phone Intercom

Postby RFguy » Fri Feb 12, 2016 9:45 am

Will it be connected to a radio?

If the answer is no, then all you have to do is connect the remotes together using a single pair.

User avatar
Hoseman292
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 1:37 pm
What radios do you own?: too many

Re: Tone Remote Desk Phone Intercom

Postby Hoseman292 » Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:43 am

RFGuy,

No radio. Strictly as intercoms. If I located three deskphones and installed on each floor of my home, how would I signal the phone in the dining room from the second floor bedroom?

Thanks,
Tim
Batboard $upporter
________________________________________
Hoseman292@aol.com

Jim202
Posts: 3485
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Tone Remote Desk Phone Intercom

Postby Jim202 » Fri Mar 04, 2016 11:05 am

Hoseman292 wrote:RFGuy,

No radio. Strictly as intercoms. If I located three deskphones and installed on each floor of my home, how would I signal the phone in the dining room from the second floor bedroom?

Thanks,
Tim


Most of the desk remotes didn't have any alert ability. The best you can do is just talk.

On a different note, these remotes generally can be set up for either 2 wire or 4 wire. You will need to make sure the units you want to use are set up for 2 wire operation. Generally it takes only changing a couple of jumpers. So it will take a diagram of the unit and some basic soldering skills.

Jim

User avatar
Hoseman292
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 1:37 pm
What radios do you own?: too many

Re: Tone Remote Desk Phone Intercom

Postby Hoseman292 » Sun Apr 03, 2016 2:28 am

Sorry for the delay but thanks for the Jim.
I'll fool around with them once they arrive. If I can get them to work together
I hopetobe able to use the yellow / black pair telco wiring.
Batboard $upporter
________________________________________
Hoseman292@aol.com

User avatar
train_radio_guy
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:47 pm

Re: Tone Remote Desk Phone Intercom

Postby train_radio_guy » Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:23 pm

Tim,

How did you make out with those remotes, as a household intercom system? I've been starting to clean-out my garage (at my wife's request), and I found one of those remotes. I was thinking of setting something up for the kids to play with over the winter, and I was curious how your little project went.
"Trust me, I know what I'm doing!" - Sledge Hammer


Return to “Experimental - Mods, and how to do things a little out of the box”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest