Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

TX Inhibit on XPR 8300?

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Forum rules
Share your enhancements here! What is not permitted is the discussion regarding adding features (aka flash options) which you can still purchase from Motorola for current subscriber products including discussion regarding Depot on current products.
User avatar
n9dki
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 6:45 pm
What radios do you own?: MSF5000's, MTR2000's, XPR8300

TX Inhibit on XPR 8300?

Postby n9dki » Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:32 pm

We are trying to address some RF exposure issues at our shared repeater site. Our MSF5000's have TX Inhibit inputs to shut down the PA by grounding the pin, is there any way we can shut down the PA on an XPS 8300, short of pulling the 120 VAC plug and battery connector? Is there any possibility that the EMERGENCY SWITCH INPUT, pin 23 on the rear accessory connector, could be configured as a TX Inhibit?

Thanks for whatever wisdom you might share.

N9DKI

RFguy
Posts: 1278
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:17 am

Re: TX Inhibit on XPR 8300?

Postby RFguy » Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:53 am

There is a disable input. We use it for testing desense. Allows us to disable the TX when doing RX checks. Not sure what pin it is.

If you can't find it, PM your e-mail and I'll e-mail a codeplug that has it programmed into it.

Wiregeek
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:53 am

Re: TX Inhibit on XPR 8300?

Postby Wiregeek » Wed Mar 16, 2016 8:42 am

It's configurable. From the MotoTRBO CPS, pin 17 is settable to the following (as well as a lot of others)


Repeater Knockdown This is an input line, that when activated, will disable the internal repeat path of the repeater for as long as the pin is activated. An external device can then control when the repeater keys-up (applicable to Analog mode and Dynamic Mixed mode, Repeater configuration only). Note: In Dynamic Mixed mode, this feature is not supported during an ongoing digital transmission.

Disable This is an input line, that when activated, disables the repeater. When this is de-activated, the repeater is re-enabled. Note that the repeater will reset before changing its state (applicable to Repeater configuration only).

Reset This is an input line, that when activated, resets the repeater (applicable to Repeater configuration only).

TX Power Level High This is an input line, that when activated, sets the repeater to use the high power level for TX transmission. When de-activated, the repeater uses the low power level for TX transmission. Note that the repeater will reset before changing its TX power level (applicable to Repeater configuration only).

FCC Type 2 Monitor This is an input line, that when activated, prevents the repeater from keying up and from repeating inbound calls in a IP Site Connect environment (applicable to Repeater configuration only).

Football Knockdown
This is an input line, that when activated, disables the receive and transmit operations of the repeater for as long as the pin is activated. CWID will not be transmitted while this option line is active (applicable to Single Site Digital mode,



These are options for the accessory pins, and like any of them can be configured to be high level (5v) or low level (0v) inputs. I recommend setting it as a low level input and then grounding the pin to activate. There is a pull-up resistor in the radio that will 'default' the pin to ~5v if nothing is connected to it.

Looking at it, I'm not sure which option would best suit, but I'd probably start at Knockdown.


Return to “Experimental - Mods, and how to do things a little out of the box”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest