Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Ease of setting up a MAXTRAC into a remote unit

This forum is dedicated to helping people with questions about installing radio equipment in vehicles. This can include antenna installs, electrical wiring questions/problems, and mounting systems. Pictures of installs are welcome.

Note: Discussions regarding lighting, sirens, and other equipment now has its own forum in the 'off-topic' section below.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Varhammer
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 9:33 pm

Ease of setting up a MAXTRAC into a remote unit

Postby Varhammer » Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:54 pm

It's been a long while I visited..

But, now I am hoping some of you more knowledgeable people can provide some guidance.

I would like to change my Maxtrac into a remote head unit and mount the body concealed and the head unit in the headliner of a Ford F-150 Raptor.
What materials do I need to assemble to provide to the shop to get this install done?

Any help is appreciated..

Larry

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3058
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: Ease of setting up a MAXTRAC into a remote unit

Postby Bill_G » Sat Dec 27, 2014 6:49 am

First thing on your list will be a time machine so you can go back a few years to get a non-Motorola separation kit that used to be sold. (big grin)

A quick browse of fleabay came up empty for a used one. Not that they were super popular to begin with, but they got the job done. If you pop the front panel off, you'll see what the challenge is - those two connectors to the main board with 20 something wires, and then the two separate speaker wires. You have to put a cable stretcher on those to remote the head from the body. The kit had finished panels to enclose the back of the head, and the front of the radio, with a convenient db25 connector so you could use any standard fully populated db25 serial cable. Motorola didn't make this. It was purely after market.

Will
Posts: 6823
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Ease of setting up a MAXTRAC into a remote unit

Postby Will » Sat Dec 27, 2014 11:47 am

Connectors to mate with the radio and control panel ARE available. You can make your own extension cable.

mike m
Posts: 899
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Ease of setting up a MAXTRAC into a remote unit

Postby mike m » Mon Jan 05, 2015 7:03 pm

Or you could pick up a GE/MACOM ORION remote mount like I did for this exact reason.

Along with the Windows software which is available on Yahoos GE ORION group it is a much more capable radio.


Return to “Vehicle Radio Installs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest