Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

MCS2000 power connection issue

This forum is dedicated to helping people with questions about installing radio equipment in vehicles. This can include antenna installs, electrical wiring questions/problems, and mounting systems. Pictures of installs are welcome.

Note: Discussions regarding lighting, sirens, and other equipment now has its own forum in the 'off-topic' section below.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

rubberkidney
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:36 am

MCS2000 power connection issue

Postby rubberkidney » Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:59 am

Hello! I just got a mcs2000 radio and im trying to set it up but unfortunatly the power cable has been cut. I am pretty much a radio newb and i wanted to power the unit on before i install it but i really have no idea how to do that! do i need a specific powersupply or is there some other method I can use? Thanks for any help in advance!

jmccabe871
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:45 am

Re: MCS2000 power connection issue

Postby jmccabe871 » Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:56 am

You'll need a 12 Volt (13.8 technically) power supply to run the radio. If you want to test the transmitter you will need a power supply that can give it 20+ Amps (higher the wattage on the RF output the more amps needed) but to just power it on a simple 5 amp bench power supply will do. Also some moto radios have an ignition sense (similar to a car stereo) wire that you must connect to positive to get the radio to power up, you will want to check that if you connect the radio and the thing does not power up. I myself just put a MCS2000 110 W VHF into my van and my radio did not require the ignition sense wire but yours might. Hope this helps.
-Jmccabe871
HAM since 2014 General Class
" If it ain't busted, I haven't tried fixing it yet"


Return to “Vehicle Radio Installs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest