Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

MOF230 handheld scanning programming

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
ny1a
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:18 am
What radios do you own?: Astro Saber, XTS5000, XTL5000

MOF230 handheld scanning programming

Postby ny1a » Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:26 am

After many years of watching eBay, I finally acquired a MOF230 handheld from qoromu in Indonesia. The radio looks like new and works perfectly, as checked on my service monitor. Qoromu also provided me with a copy of the appropriate Wookie, and I have had no trouble programming the unit with one exception: I can’t get scan to work. I created and populated a scan list. Then I enabled scanning and selected that list in the personality. Finally, I assigned the scan function to a side button. When I press the button, the scan indicator comes on in the display, and the radio appears to be scanning. However, the radio does not appear to stop on any signal. When a signal is introduced, there is a brief click in the speaker, but the display does not change, and no audio is passed.

I am mystified. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? I would be glad to send you the code plug if that would help.

Thanks.

David, NY1A
David, NY1A

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1828
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: MOF230 handheld scanning programming

Postby motorola_otaku » Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:27 pm

I had to assign it to the ABC switch iirc. Been a while since I touched it.

The whole MOF line runs very buggy firmware, and you're going to encounter all kinds of quirks like this. Example: the mobile will not power off at the power button if the ignition sense line has power. Also it stays in monitor mode, permanently, and nothing you can do in programming will change it.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

User avatar
ny1a
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:18 am
What radios do you own?: Astro Saber, XTS5000, XTL5000

Re: MOF230 handheld scanning programming

Postby ny1a » Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:48 pm

Thank you so much for responding. Unfortunately, that didn’t fix it. Any other ideas?
David, NY1A

User avatar
ny1a
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:18 am
What radios do you own?: Astro Saber, XTS5000, XTL5000

Re: MOF230 handheld scanning programming

Postby ny1a » Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:52 pm

I just had another thought. If you’ve ever programmed one and got it to work, do you by chance have a codeplug saved on a hard drive somewhere that you could send me?
David, NY1A

User avatar
ny1a
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:18 am
What radios do you own?: Astro Saber, XTS5000, XTL5000

Re: MOF230 handheld scanning programming

Postby ny1a » Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:01 pm

Still no solution here. I am surprised that of all the Motorola wisdom and experts on the batboard, no one has any ideas about this.
David, NY1A


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: NHfirefighter and 9 guests