Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Radius M1225 Software Issues

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

yagermeister
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:01 pm

Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby yagermeister » Sun Jun 21, 2020 3:51 pm

I'm trying to get some M1225s programmed for a friend, and cannot get the software to install correctly. I'm working with an old IBM PS / Valuepoint 80486 computer, running at 50 MHz I think. It has DOS 6.22 and Windows 3.1 installed on it. I'm trying to install Version 3.1 Release Build 2 while running on the WIndows 3.1 platform. I get all the way thru the installation process, and get the message "Windows Is Registering Installed Components". At that point, the computer just hangs, and will go no further. I've gone thru the process several times with the same result. I have several old Windows XP desktop computers also, but I understand that only Version 4.0 will work with XP and I don't have that version. I also have several Toshiba Satellite 80486 laptops, but the floppy drives have quit working on them and I have no way to try to install the software to see if it works on them. I'm pretty sure I'm doing something wrong, but don't know what it is.
WA7IEP
KAF9668

Jim202
Posts: 3579
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby Jim202 » Sun Jun 21, 2020 4:58 pm

I could be wrong, but I suspect the software will only run in DOS. Been a long time since I have programmed those radios.

You will also need a RIB (radio interface box) to translate the serial port of the computer to the signal levels the radio understands. A cable to go between the RIB and the computer. Then a cable between the RIB and the radio. In many cases, if your decent with a soldering iron, you can make the cable between the radio and the RIB, as well as the cable between the computer and the RIB. The connectors are standard ones that are available from a number of places that sell electronics parts.

Another problem is that DOS can only function on a hard drive of 80 GB or smaller. I have dual booted a larger hard drive and made the DOS partition an 80 GB size and left the remains of the larger hard drive for Windows. Then use a floppy to get it to boot up in the DOS mode.

One other issue that could throw a monkey wrench into the picture is that DOS does not like to use these older Motorola software ware programs in computers running a clock speed much over 900 MHz.

Given these limitations, you might be able to make it work.

I tend to go visit the older computer repair stores in my area now and then and ask them what they are throwing out. I have picked up some fine computers that will run these DOS programs over time. The older computers do fail and the more spares I have the better off I feel. The failures are generally are due to the caps on the mother board going bad due to shorting out.

Jim

yagermeister
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:01 pm

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby yagermeister » Sun Jun 21, 2020 6:52 pm

Hi Jim:
I suspect you're right about the capacitors going bad on my laptops, and that being why the floppy drives quit working. I'm trying to install on a slow 80486 IBM desktop computer, running around 50 MHz CPU speed. It definitely isn't too fast. Not sure why the install goes all the way thru then hangs when it says "Setup is Registering Installed Files". The computer locks up there, and the only way out is to CTRL-ALT-DEL to reboot the computer. Something is wrong, but don't know what. After a reboot, the program isn't installed.
WA7IEP

KAF9668

yagermeister
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:01 pm

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby yagermeister » Sun Jun 21, 2020 6:57 pm

Forgot to list that I'm using a Motorola RIB and Motorola cables. RIB to radio cable is an OEM Motorola cable that's made for Maxtrac, GM-300s, etc., that has the RJ-45 connector on one end and a small box with a BNC connector on it in the middle. I think the BNC connector is for connecting to a Service Monitor for alignment.
WA7IEP

KAF9668

PETNRDX
Posts: 837
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Too many

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby PETNRDX » Mon Jun 22, 2020 1:05 pm

I didn't think M1225 worked on anything earlier than Win 98.
I don't even think it worked on Win 95.
And I am pretty darn sure it would not work on Win 3.1.
Does it say it will work on 3.1?
I distinctly remember having to maintain a WIN 98 laptop for a long time, and I think it was for M1225 / P1225's.
I had to do that for many years until I had a reason to get M1225 for WIN XP.
Steve K.

yagermeister
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:01 pm

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby yagermeister » Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:56 pm

The release notes for Ver. 3.1 say it will work with Windows 3.1, Windows 3.11 or Windows 95. I tried installing it on a Windows 3.1 IBM desktop running an 80486 CPU at 50 MHz. It installs until it hangs when the message "Setup is Registering Installed Files". CTRL-ALT-DEL is needed to free the computer up. Not sure what's going on there. Ultimately, the program doesn't show up in program files after this. I tried running Ver. 3.1 on a Windows XP machine (AMD Athlon) running in Compatibility Mode for Windows 95 and Windows 98, but the software doesn't see the RIB or radio. Tried all 4 COM ports. I've seen that Version 4.0 of the M1225 software works in XP, but I'm not exactly sure what Version 4.0 is. I tried running CPS Rev 04.00.00 but it only shows COM 1 as an option and doesn't see the RIB either. I suspect that this software isn't the Version 4.0 for M1225s but I'm not sure. I'm running an OEM RIB and all OEM cables; RIB to radio is a Maxtrac / GM300 cable with the box in the middle with a BNC connector, I assume for doing radio alignment work. I just keep hitting dead ends and am about to give up. I'll bet the Version 3.1 would work on my Toshiba Satellite T2100CT laptops, but both of them have had floppy disc drive failures, so I can't load the software. Coming here is my last hope for figuring the problem out.
WA7IEP

KAF9668

User avatar
arlojanis
Posts: 989
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby arlojanis » Tue Jun 23, 2020 4:58 am

I have Radius 1225 version 4.0 on my Windows 98 desktop computer and program works ok. Just before software starts, I get an error message and I click ignore and everything is good afterwards.
"The world runs on radio."

User avatar
jackhackett
Posts: 1477
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 8:52 am

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby jackhackett » Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:46 am

I've got 3.1 running fine here on a 486 with Windows 95, so that's definitely possible.

yagermeister
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:01 pm

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby yagermeister » Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:53 pm

Am I correct that Radius 1225 Ver. 4.0 isn't the same software as CPS R04.00.00?
WA7IEP

KAF9668

Karl NVW
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:13 am

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby Karl NVW » Tue Jun 23, 2020 8:31 pm

I can confirm that Radius 1225 Ver. 4.0 Radio Service Software (aka RSS) is absolutely NOT the same as CPS R04.00.00
Karl - WA8NVW AFA5VB
SHARES + NCS

yagermeister
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:01 pm

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby yagermeister » Tue Jun 23, 2020 8:41 pm

Karl:
Thank you for confirming that. I suspect my only hope of programming these radios, especially since they were used in a logging truck fleet and I know nothing of their programming history, is to try with M1225 Rev. 4.0 on my Windows XP machine, since I can't get Rev. 3.1 to install on my Windows 3.11 computer. Motorola Solutions told me today they no longer have M1225 Rev. 4.0 available, and I can't seem to find it anywhere else. I'm beginning to think that my friend getting 10 or 12 or these for $20 each may not have been such a good deal after all. It's too bad because the radios look in good condition, and he was going to give them to new hams in his area to use on 2M and also for Search and Rescue for those involved.
WA7IEP

KAF9668

PETNRDX
Posts: 837
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Too many

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby PETNRDX » Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:24 am

20 bucks each is a great deal.
Even if you had to pay a little to get them programmed.
Steve K.

yagermeister
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:01 pm

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby yagermeister » Wed Jun 24, 2020 11:30 am

You're absolutely right, especially when you consider the original price and the build quality. I'm just trying to save him some money on the project. Do you know of a shop in the Pacific Northwest that does Motorola programming?
WA7IEP

KAF9668

PETNRDX
Posts: 837
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Too many

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby PETNRDX » Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:49 pm

I sent you a PM.
Steve K.

Satelite
Posts: 659
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 10:43 am

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby Satelite » Thu Jun 25, 2020 7:52 am

Hello yagermeister
If You pay shipping both ways ill program them for you free as long as you have the license for the freqs or if you want some for receive only I can set tx on that ch to blank no transmit.
Ill need the list of freqs wanted and tone or dpl if any.
Ill program and calibrate on freq only no repairs offered.
PM any qestions
Satelite

Jim202
Posts: 3579
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby Jim202 » Thu Jun 25, 2020 10:06 am

One other thought that just came to me is to use a small program called "CACHEOFF.EXE" before you try to run the M1225 software.

This program can be found by doing a search on the internet. Download it and put it in the M1225 directory so you can find it. Then run it before starting the M1225 program. What it does is shut off any cache that may be running in your computer. I have to do this with a number of the Motorola radio software that run in DOS.

Sorry I did not think of this before.

Jim

yagermeister
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:01 pm

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby yagermeister » Thu Jun 25, 2020 11:58 pm

Satelite:
Where are you located? The radios are in S.W. WA and most likely would have to be shipped. Don't think that 8 of these in a large Priority Mail box would get bounced around enough to be a problem if properly packed. Should probably be double boxed as well to be safe. I'm still working with the owner of the radios to see if he wants to ship them somewhere. I thought I could do the programming and I've had nothing but problem after problem with the project, from failed disc drives to software that won't install.
WA7IEP

KAF9668

Satelite
Posts: 659
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 10:43 am

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby Satelite » Fri Jun 26, 2020 5:51 am

Hello yagermeister
Im located in NW Iowa
Ill be absent to the daughters till Monday so if you reply and I don't ITS BECAUSE SHE DONE KILLED ME :-)
Ill be back Monday the 29th and check in.
Satelite

Satelite
Posts: 659
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 10:43 am

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby Satelite » Mon Jun 29, 2020 4:30 pm

Hello
Checking in and see no reply or pm so im assuming not needing any help now .
Satelite

yagermeister
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:01 pm

Re: Radius M1225 Software Issues

Postby yagermeister » Mon Jun 29, 2020 5:18 pm

Happy you made it back from your daughter's OK:) I honestly don't know what to say about the radios. I don't know if he doesn't want to ship them or what, so I'm not worrying about it much more. I spent way too much time trying to get RSS running to program them myself. If I hear anything I'll let you know. I think he was trying to find someone local to program them, but I don't know if there is anyone that can do them. I do appreciate your offer. I know from firsthand experience it can be time consuming to do just a few radios.
WA7IEP

KAF9668


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests