Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

XTS3000 PTT and MODAT Issue...?

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Thomas
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:35 pm
What radios do you own?: MCS2K,CDM1250,XTS3000,XTL2500

XTS3000 PTT and MODAT Issue...?

Postby Thomas » Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:11 pm

I remember reading about this issue somewhere but I can't find it now.

I have an XTS3000 model II with MODAT. When I transmit on a analog channel without the MODAT the audio from portable kinda sounds like I'm outside on a very windy day. There is a lot of background noise. When I use a channel with the MODAT enabled the audio is noticably muffled. P25 channels sound good. If someone can point me in the right direction to a possible fix for this I would greatly appreciate it.

Tom.

User avatar
mancow
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 2374
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: XTS3000 PTT and MODAT Issue...?

Postby mancow » Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:37 pm

That's the modat audio bug and there's nothing you can do but fall back to some ancient analog firmware.

Thomas
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:35 pm
What radios do you own?: MCS2K,CDM1250,XTS3000,XTL2500

Re: XTS3000 PTT and MODAT Issue...?

Postby Thomas » Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:46 pm

Would an external speaker mic help with this issue at all ?

User avatar
mancow
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 2374
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: XTS3000 PTT and MODAT Issue...?

Postby mancow » Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:51 pm

No

User avatar
K8TEK
"Dark Chocolate"
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:40 pm
What radios do you own?: Dynatac

Re: XTS3000 PTT and MODAT Issue...?

Postby K8TEK » Fri Jan 20, 2012 5:16 am

What do you need MODAT for?
K8TEK::Tim

Thomas
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:35 pm
What radios do you own?: MCS2K,CDM1250,XTS3000,XTL2500

Re: XTS3000 PTT and MODAT Issue...?

Postby Thomas » Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:48 am

Thanks for the help. I really don't need modat, it came with the radio and I didn't know about the issue with it until after purchasing. Live and learn I suppose. I mainly use the radio for a couple local 440 amateur P25 repeater and the audio seems ok on digital, no complaints from anyone yet. Just analog has issues it seems.

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1854
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: XTS3000 PTT and MODAT Issue...?

Postby motorola_otaku » Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:36 am

Is this a 4F1E issue? I've had a bunch of 1C5E-flashed XTSes over the years with varying firmware revisions and none of them exhibited this issue.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

Thomas
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:35 pm
What radios do you own?: MCS2K,CDM1250,XTS3000,XTL2500

Re: XTS3000 PTT and MODAT Issue...?

Postby Thomas » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:31 am

motorola_otaku wrote:Is this a 4F1E issue? I've had a bunch of 1C5E-flashed XTSes over the years with varying firmware revisions and none of them exhibited this issue.


Can you fill me in on what exactly 4F1E and 1C5E is in reards to the radio? Something to do with the flashcode? Also I failed to mention that this radio has no tags or lables. The information I get from service mode on the display matches what I see when I read the radio in CPS.

DPL
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 5:48 am

Re: XTS3000 PTT and MODAT Issue...?

Postby DPL » Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:22 am

4F1E and 1C5E both refer to two different famous (infamous?) flashcodes found in Astro Sabers and XTS3000s. If you search the board for those strings, you should find sufficient explanation of their origins. When you look at your flashcode, you will likely see one of those two strings in the flash code. There are MODAT enabled flashcodes that aren't 1C5E or 4F1E, either.

I have a 1C5E Astro Saber and I get slightly muffled audio when using MODAT, but have never noticed a problem with MODAT disabled. I have a friend with a 1C5E XTS3000, and his radio seems to behave the same as mine. No audio problems as long as MODAT isn't enabled on that personality. Both radios have DSP 8.

Thomas
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:35 pm
What radios do you own?: MCS2K,CDM1250,XTS3000,XTL2500

Re: XTS3000 PTT and MODAT Issue...?

Postby Thomas » Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:29 pm

DPL wrote:4F1E and 1C5E both refer to two different famous (infamous?) flashcodes found in Astro Sabers and XTS3000s. If you search the board for those strings, you should find sufficient explanation of their origins. When you look at your flashcode, you will likely see one of those two strings in the flash code. There are MODAT enabled flashcodes that aren't 1C5E or 4F1E, either.

I have a 1C5E Astro Saber and I get slightly muffled audio when using MODAT, but have never noticed a problem with MODAT disabled. I have a friend with a 1C5E XTS3000, and his radio seems to behave the same as mine. No audio problems as long as MODAT isn't enabled on that personality. Both radios have DSP 8.


Thank you.


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest