Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Unresponsive Button HT1250

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

pairughdocks
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:32 pm

Unresponsive Button HT1250

Postby pairughdocks » Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:42 pm

I have an HT1250 VHF radio that was given to me to take a look at because a button is not reacting at all. It is the "select" button if you will right above the P3 arrow. I checked in CPS and dropped in my default codeplug I made so the radio does take the programming.

I opened the radio up and all of the ribbon cables are clean and connected. Typically, when a button is unassigned it makes that annoying "beep" sound (like when you have an Rx only personality and try to Tx). This button does nothing and makes no noise.

What else can I do to troubleshoot this issue? My local Moto shop quoted me a base estimate of $150-$300 saying it would probably have to be sent to the depot, and if at all possible I am trying to avoid having that happen.

Thanks for any and all input!

thebigphish
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 10:10 pm
What radios do you own?: AM/FM

Re: Unresponsive Button HT1250

Postby thebigphish » Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:41 pm

Find the traces for that button on the PCB, close them temporarily and see if the radio interprets that as a button press....if you get a beep, then you have a bad button trace on the board.
"How do you plan to outwit Death?"
"With a knight and bishop combination; I will destroy his flank.
" --Antonious Block

User avatar
K8TEK
"Dark Chocolate"
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:40 pm
What radios do you own?: Dynatac

Re: Unresponsive Button HT1250

Postby K8TEK » Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:43 pm

Replace the keyboard, part number 0104018J54.

List is $25.
K8TEK::Tim

pairughdocks
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:32 pm

Re: Unresponsive Button HT1250

Postby pairughdocks » Tue Jan 31, 2012 3:51 pm

Thanks for the quick replies guys! thebigpush, I am a little unsure of what you mean by find the "traces" - are you referring to the "silver" lines that the solder goes to on the PCB? How would I go about testing them?

K8TEK, I can definitely try that as well. Would you reccomend cleaning the ends of the ribbon cable with pure isopropyl? I do not want to cause further damage to the radio.

Thanks again!

RADIOMAN2002
Posts: 1102
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: More than I can count

Re: Unresponsive Button HT1250

Postby RADIOMAN2002 » Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:41 am

Have had major problem with those keypad boards after the radio has been dropped. We just replace the board.

CircleBat
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:11 pm

Re: Unresponsive Button HT1250

Postby CircleBat » Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:43 am

must be the earlier version keypads.. had many problems with the opamp and traces.. been replaced with a newer keypad board and pay the $25.00 for a new board!! less headaches

CircleBat


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest