Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

DES Saber and Astro

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Enzo86
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:47 pm

DES Saber and Astro

Postby Enzo86 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:52 pm

Hello

New to the board and had a few questions. I have five saber iii's with a des module VHF. I just got a astro saber that does
Not have a crypto board. I would like to only use my astro but can the des modules for it talk with the analog ones in the saber iii's ?


Thank you
Jason

User avatar
kotaguchi
Posts: 1373
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 10:04 pm
What radios do you own?: XTS5000

Re: DES Saber and Astro

Postby kotaguchi » Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:15 pm

Welcome to the board.

Yes.The Astro Saber will work with the Saber VHF III if you are transmitting and receiving in the clear with the Saber III but if you have the secure switch enabled,no.
In Memory of those that serve.

Seal Team Six

Radios I currently own:

2-qty APX7000 UHF R2/700-800MHz M3

Enzo86
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: DES Saber and Astro

Postby Enzo86 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:32 pm

So no way to do secure between a astro saber and saber iii's?

N4KVE
Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 10:35 am
What radios do you own?: XTS3000/5000, TRBO, 900MHZ

Re: DES Saber and Astro

Postby N4KVE » Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:27 pm

Enzo86 wrote:So no way to do secure between a astro saber and saber iii's?
Yes, if you purchase & install a DES board in the Astro radio. GARY N4KVE

Enzo86
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: DES Saber and Astro

Postby Enzo86 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:52 pm

Does anyone know the model number for the astro des module, and does it require any codeplug changes to activate?

JRUTA
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 1:56 pm
What radios do you own?: XTS2500i, Visar, Saber

Re: DES Saber and Astro

Postby JRUTA » Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:51 am

AS DES module # NTN1652, I believe- Hopefully other member will correct me if wrong, Just have to make sure your Astro Saber is operating in analog mode (in order to talk to your analog Sabers) with secure enabled, of course. (I too am new at this, but trying to learn from the greats on this board!)

User avatar
N4DES
was KS4VT
Posts: 1215
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 7:59 am
What radios do you own?: APX,XTS2500,XTL2500,XTL1500

Re: DES Saber and Astro

Postby N4DES » Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:32 am

Do you have a keyloader? In order for them to all talk together in a secure mode they must be keyed the same prior to use.
If you don't and they don't have keys loaded you will get a key error when you attempt to transmit a coded message.

Enzo86
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: DES Saber and Astro

Postby Enzo86 » Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:05 am

Yes I have several KVL's that I have been using on the Saber III's without trouble. Just wanted to see if I could get my Astro working in secure mode with the Saber III's

Thanks,

DPL
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 5:48 am

Re: DES Saber and Astro

Postby DPL » Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:31 am

Check out http://www.akardam.net/moto/docs/mirror ... odules.pdf
This is a great list of secure modules created by a member here. There are several astro saber modules that do des. I have an ntn1153 in one of mine.

AL7OC
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 1:13 am
What radios do you own?: Motorola, Icom, Thales, Tekk

Re: DES Saber and Astro

Postby AL7OC » Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:41 pm

Don't forget that old Securenet products have a 20kHz bandwidth. The old CVSD modulation scheme used in non-P25 products won't be narrowband compliant for Part 90 Land Mobile in the USA. P25 running DES/AES variants is fine regarding BW.

PL
Pierre

AL7OC


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests