Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

A couple XTL5k questions...

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
W1HVN
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:46 am
What radios do you own?: MX300 w/DVP

A couple XTL5k questions...

Postby W1HVN » Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:03 pm

1. What is required to make a single head into a dual head XTL other than connecting the dual heads and remote cables, ign, etc? Just cps setup or something internal to the deck or flash? Any unique components?

2. Use of an xtl5k with a vrs750, anything required to be done to configure everything to play nice together?

"Break, more to follow..."

n3obl
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: A couple XTL5k questions...

Postby n3obl » Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:27 pm

I believe there is a setting under radio wide where you set the number of remote heads. I believe o series can have up to 4 heads connected to radio.

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5165
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: A couple XTL5k questions...

Postby escomm » Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:08 pm

You'll also have to set the CHID of each head by entering FPP mode.

User avatar
kt2728
Posts: 488
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 8:07 pm

Re: A couple XTL5k questions...

Postby kt2728 » Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:29 am

escomm wrote:You'll also have to set the CHID of each head by entering FPP mode.

How do you do that? I am thinking of doing the same thing.
Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't!

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5165
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: A couple XTL5k questions...

Postby escomm » Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:13 am

I believe you hold the right most soft key and the emergency when powering the radio on. It's noted in the CPS help file how to do it.

Bigfella237
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 11:30 am

Re: A couple XTL5k questions...

Postby Bigfella237 » Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:39 am

Orange + the right-most soft key (while powering up) puts the CH in Bootloader mode.

Orange + the left-most soft key brings up the CH ID # menu, then scroll the ID of each CH from 1 to 4 with the rotary control, obviously each CH must have a unique ID #.

Andrew

User avatar
W1HVN
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:46 am
What radios do you own?: MX300 w/DVP

Re: A couple XTL5k questions...

Postby W1HVN » Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:46 pm

Obviously do that while only one CH at a time is connected, correct? Then repeat process for each one, one at a time?

Thanks much.

Any VRS750 info or tips before I plug and play?

Bigfella237
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 11:30 am

Re: A couple XTL5k questions...

Postby Bigfella237 » Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:35 pm

Once it's all set up and working you can access those FPP menus at any time (even on a single head radio, give it a try) but yes, when syncing the control heads, as per the instructions in CPS, you should only have one CH attached at a time.

I've never had a VRS to play with but I believe you would just connect the hardware and make the necessary changes to the codeplug, but don't take on too much at once, probably better to get the CHs working first as they can be temperamental little suckers at times?

Andrew

MikeOxlong
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 12:46 pm

Re: A couple XTL5k questions...

Postby MikeOxlong » Sat Sep 22, 2012 5:31 am

W1HVN wrote:Any VRS750 info or tips before I plug and play?


Plug it in and program it up. Nothing special needs to be done.


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest