Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

HT750 and Scott Hazmat Radiocom

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Jay
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2001 4:00 pm

HT750 and Scott Hazmat Radiocom

Postby Jay » Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:54 am

Is anyone familiar with the setup of this device? I've got six HT750's and a couple of these Scott Hazmat Radiocom audio accessories to troubleshoot. They are intended to mount to SCBA face masks for firefighting/hazmat operations. The radios test fine and work OK with speaker mics, but not these guys. Here is a page on the device:

https://www.scottsafety.com/en/us/pages ... ion+Device

Anyway, the issue I am having is that they will receive fine, and transmit but DON'T PASS ANY AUDIO. I called Scott for tech support and they were not helpful, advising me that they do not support this directly but offered to help me send them in for service (they are brand new).

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jay

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5163
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: HT750 and Scott Hazmat Radiocom

Postby escomm » Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:12 pm

What kind of microphone does this thing use?

Jay
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: HT750 and Scott Hazmat Radiocom

Postby Jay » Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:16 pm

It's a boom mic/speaker of sorts. In the picture in that link, it is rotated back.

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5163
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: HT750 and Scott Hazmat Radiocom

Postby escomm » Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:35 pm

No I mean what kind of microphone element does it have? What's its impedance? Is there a matching transformer in the kit?

CircleBat
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:11 pm

Re: HT750 and Scott Hazmat Radiocom

Postby CircleBat » Sat Apr 20, 2013 3:37 am

That unit was built by conspace that is now savox for scott.... sounds like you have a lower impedance element that is causing your problems.... you really shouldn't be messing with that unit or your gonna breach the certification of that SCBA!

CircleBat

Jay
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: HT750 and Scott Hazmat Radiocom

Postby Jay » Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:47 am

CircleBat, one of our customers brought them in for troubleshooting since they wouldn't transmit any audio. I haven't been inside of these guys, instead mainly focusing on some of the settings in the HT750 to troubleshoot.

I got a PM from a board member who helped clear it up....Both me and the customer thought that the speaker/mic were a combo unit. It seems that there is a separate microphone on it and if you talk into the right spot, they do indeed work. Thanks to all for their replies!

Jay


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest