Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Very strange Spectra

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Will
Posts: 6823
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Very strange Spectra

Postby Will » Tue Jan 11, 2005 2:42 am

Very strange indeed. The radio IS a D43KXA7JA7CK and I have checked the Range 'bit' in the radio, Range 2 146 to 174.

The real problem is when in the alignment Menu, either thru RSS or front, the radio displays 430.025, the tune up frequencies for a 438 to 470 Spectra. The Alignment Menu does not work because the radio is a VHF and it is being 'told to' do the wrong test freqs. I can adjust the soft pots in the alignment screens.

Other than that the radio works to spec.

Is there some 'bits' that are wrong in the Command or MLM ?

VE3TUH
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 3:14 pm
What radios do you own?: more than I should...

Strange Spectra

Postby VE3TUH » Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:36 am

Hi Will. I have seen this when taking an MLM from a Spectra from 1 freq range and hacking it into a Spectra from another freq renge. I cant remember what the cure was, but that was the reason.

Randy

Will
Posts: 6823
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Postby Will » Wed Jan 12, 2005 1:50 am

I compared the Bit locations in the MLM with a factory VHFradio's MLM and the suposed range locations were the same.

6183 thru 6192

Will
Posts: 6823
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Postby Will » Thu Jan 13, 2005 3:38 pm

I did some further tests. I put a good VHF MLM from a good radio, simmular model, in the strange radio and it sisplays the correct alignment frequencies.

So, I guess that the data is in the MLM memory. Now the question is: can it be changed?

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7337
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Postby wavetar » Thu Jan 13, 2005 5:19 pm

Will wrote:So, I guess that the data is in the MLM memory. Now the question is: can it be changed?


Well, it apparently was at least once :D

Sorry I have no help to offer, but I'm confident you'll figure it out in short order.

Todd
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

VE3TUH
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 3:14 pm
What radios do you own?: more than I should...

Strange

Postby VE3TUH » Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:35 am

Yes it can. You can copy and paste the configuration data, asuming you can find another MLM, same firmware, and you have an eprom programmer. I have made an adapter to allow addressing the chips without removal from the board. I dont know of any easier way to recover a faulty MLM, sorry.

Randy


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests