MDC1200/600 in an A4 Spectra

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
motastro1
Posts: 215
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 1:12 pm

MDC1200/600 in an A4 Spectra

Post by motastro1 »

I would like to add MDC1200 or 600 to my VHF high power A4 Spectra. Is this an add on board or how do I do this? Also, I found a website on here one time that had a bunch of sounds like MODAT,GESTAR but I cannot seem to locate it so if anyone knows what one it is please post the link.Thanks for any help.
User avatar
mr.syntrx
Posts: 1587
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:09 pm

Post by mr.syntrx »

Will
Posts: 6823
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by Will »

Most Spectra's will encode MDC1200 on a per mode basis. I think they can decode Call Alert also.
motastro1
Posts: 215
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 1:12 pm

Post by motastro1 »

So to get it to work do I need to add a board or is it something that needs to be turned on in the programming.I have heard what the MDC1200 sounds like but am still looking for the MDC600. I want to have the tone transmit at the end when I release the PTT.--Thanks
VE3TUH
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 3:14 pm
What radios do you own?: more than I should...

mdc1200

Post by VE3TUH »

The radio will do it, just turn it on in the programming.

Randy
motastro1
Posts: 215
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 1:12 pm

Post by motastro1 »

Is there any way to tell by the model number if the radio has it or not until you get into the programming. The model number off of mine is
T83FWA7HA4AK.--Thanks
User avatar
Bob
Posts: 1006
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by Bob »

ALL spectras will do it unless your MLM revision is too low. (read: your radio is too old) It's just a matter of turning it on in the programming of the radio.

There is no need for an add-on board.
Will
Posts: 6823
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by Will »

IF the T83 Spectra is realy a T83, that is considered a newer radio. Check you MLM Version.
Post Reply

Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”