Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Spectra A3 bandsplit change

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

VE3TUH
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 3:14 pm
What radios do you own?: more than I should...

Spectra A3 bandsplit change

Postby VE3TUH » Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:33 pm

Hi all. I wonder if anyone could help me. I have a VHF A5 Spectra that I am changing to an A3. I have all the hardware sorted out, as in the head, connecting plate, and MLM. The MLM is out of a UHF, though. I changed the model number in the MLM to a VHF one, and the frequency range bits at location 605F to 62, VHF high split. Also had to reinit the command board to accept the A3 MLM. All works great now except for the service menu in RSS. Test frequencies in the service menu are 225.025, 233.025, and 240.975. Anyone know how to get these frequencies to what they should be? I guess another option would be to find a VHF, A3 codeplug, and force it in, I think that would clear those values to what they should be, I am sure the problem is in the MLM.

Thanks,

Randy

Will
Posts: 6823
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Postby Will » Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:44 am

There has been a lot of Spectras showing the wrong alignment frequencies comming in for repairs here. Seems the codeplug info was forced in over something else, BitBanged, or otherwise hosed.

Even the wrong test or alignment frequencies show up in the Service section of the RSS, making alignment imposible.

I did "fix" a few by loading a known good code plug archive. Then the whole alignment had to be done as the radio comes up way off.

VE3TUH
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 3:14 pm
What radios do you own?: more than I should...

Spectra A3 bandsplit change

Postby VE3TUH » Mon Sep 26, 2005 3:26 am

Hi Will. I suspected as much. All is 100 % except for the alignment frequencies in the RSS service menu. And yes, the radio does require a realignment now. Is there a chance that you could send me a VHF A3 codeplug? I would appreciate it, and thanks for replying.

Randy

Will
Posts: 6823
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Postby Will » Mon Sep 26, 2005 12:30 pm

I would have to look in the archives, A3's arround here are few.

Update..I could not find a 'stock' VHF A3, sorry.
Last edited by Will on Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

VE3TUH
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 3:14 pm
What radios do you own?: more than I should...

A3 bandsplit change

Postby VE3TUH » Wed Sep 28, 2005 3:49 am

Hi. Does anybody have an VHF A3 codeplug they would mind sending me?

Thanks,

Randy

kk6rq
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 1:56 am
What radios do you own?: My wife is calling; go away...

Spectra test freq bit locations?

Postby kk6rq » Fri Oct 28, 2005 12:48 am

Someone started to ask this awhile ago but never got a satisfactory answer as far as I could see:

I've done a codeplug force of an 800 cp into a UHF radio and desperately
need to get the UHF(450-482) test freqs back from 800. Has anyone ever
found the bit locations for them? Or better still, short of directly clamping
onto the eeproms, is there a way to blindly read the entire
MLM/Command Board ranges to a file? Trying to search one byte at a time
is worse than tedius. I appreciate any suggestions...

Oh, also---not that it's as important, but the trunking side doesn't let me
put any frequencies, UHF or otherwise into the control channel fields. Has
anyone ever dealt with this?

Jim202
Posts: 3567
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: A3 bandsplit change

Postby Jim202 » Fri Oct 28, 2005 3:51 am

Let me make sure I understand what codeplug your looking for. Are you trying to use a HHCH with the SIU (serial interface unit) in this application? If so, then I have several of these units in service and could get one of those codeplugs for you.

Jim



VE3TUH wrote:Hi. Does anybody have an VHF A3 codeplug they would mind sending me?

Thanks,

Randy

User avatar
DaBigBR
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:52 pm

Postby DaBigBR » Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:17 am

http://www.codeplugsupersite.com/

There are several spectra codeplugs here, but they are by S/N mostly. It might be worth downloading them all and trying them.

jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Postby jmr061 » Fri Oct 28, 2005 10:33 am

Forgive me if I didn't read the post fully, but I have a range 2 vhf dashount a3 codeplug. Ill need to delete some stuff off of it but if you need that let me know.

Jason

VE3TUH
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 3:14 pm
What radios do you own?: more than I should...

VHF A3 codeplug

Postby VE3TUH » Mon Oct 31, 2005 5:52 am

Hi Jason. Yes, a VHF range 2 A3 codeplug would be great. I have made the UHF codeplug work in an A3 radio, but the test freqs are not correct. Its a minor issue, but would be nice to have it perfect. I could send you the UHF A3 codeplug in return, if you like.

Randy


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests