How long should a NiCad last?

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Zap
Batboard $upporter

How long should a NiCad last?

Post by Zap »

XTS3000 battery, NTN8294BR marked 329 ZUE9, charger:NTN7209A

Once charged and left out of the radio it is dead in a day or two.
It spent most of it's initial life in receive, almost no TX time.
As new died in 6-8 hrs as scanner reciever radio battery.

I'm not good at decoding battery codes, but has this fizzled prematurely, or is this all you get???

Doug
Al

Post by Al »

Well, there's lots of answers to your question, and here's one based on the Motorola-published battery tips card, the Gates rechargeable battery handbook, Isidor Buchmann's Cadex book, and twenty or so years of personal experience: NiCd life depends on how well the battery is cared for(i.e. storage temperatures, discharge/charge habits of the user, proper initialization, etc.), when it was manufactured(yours appears to have been manufactured in 2003, 29th week). Standing losses which cause the self-discharge that you're seeing increase with battery age in all batteries.
In a heavy-duty industrial environment where users don't observe good care practices, and the batteries get used 24/7, I see typically one and a half years before NiMH batteries drop below 80% capacity(which is where I replace them). In cases where a NiCD battery is severely abused I might only see a year before the 80% level is reached.
I'm sure many others here will have other opinions based upon their experiences and maybe they can give you additional insight.
Zap
Batboard $upporter

Post by Zap »

Without using a battery conditioner, can it be revived?
Used back to health?