Learning to repair radios?

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

USSZulu2

Learning to repair radios?

Post by USSZulu2 »

Hey Everyone! =)

I am on here looking for information for radio repair. I have some basic knowledge in programming various Motorola portables, and basic knowledge of radio operation and repair (very basic). I also have very basic electronic knowledge (mainly just recognizing what parts are what). What I am looking for a either a book or internet resource that gives basic and advanced information with trouble shooting and repairing radios (mainly modern and semi modern radios). I have looked on Google and other search engines but have found nothing but people offering to repair radios, which don’t help me LOL. Any suggestions would really be appreciated. Thank you very very much! =)

-Bob
bernie
Batboard $upporter

Post by bernie »

My two bits worth:
I have some experience repairing radios, as well as other electronic equipment, about 50 years.

There are several kinds of trouble shooting often employed in servicing radios.
1) The "Theoreitical" technician. This person follows the troubleshooting guides to the letter. Usuially finds and repairs the problem, but slow.
Understands the purpose of every circuit component.

2) "Intuitive" tech. This person has many years of experience, knows which part causes what problem, has little idea exactly what the part does, or how to test it. Most problems are simple, so has a fast turn around.

3) Guesser: Changes parts and assemblies until it starts to work, or scraps it. Has no idea what he is doing. Evolves into #2 if he keeps employment.

Most techs are a hibred of the above.