Echo when transmitting

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

suprdav95
New User

Echo when transmitting

Post by suprdav95 »

I just recently installed a GTX 800mhz in my car. I'm a law enforcement officer and so i carry a portable rado on my belt as well as having my mobile radio. I was told that when I was transmitting the other day, there was an echo. Could that have been caused by the volume on my portable being too high? I just hope it's not in my mobile. Thanks.
suprdav95
New User

Re: Echo when transmitting

Post by suprdav95 »

Ok, I fixed that issue by turning down the portable volume. Now when I transmit, it sounds faint and kind od robotic. Any chance it could be the mic. I'm going to go to the Motorola shop on Monday, but I'd love to use the radio in the meantime.
muggsy09

Post by muggsy09 »

I have had the same issue, it happens mostly when I have my portable volume too high and I use the mobile or vise versa, or if I'm standing next to someone at the time and their radio is on. This occurs I believe because there is a slight delay when using the repeater, and the ,ic picks up the background audio from the other radios. It's a normal occurance. Easily fixed by turning down the surronding radios. As far as the robotic sound, if your using digital radios like ASTRO this does happen sometimes or at least I have noticed it from time to time.
nmfire10
Batboard $upporter

Post by nmfire10 »

Yes. You need to pick one or the other in the car and the other's volume needs to be nearly off.
"I'll eat you like a plate of bacon and eggs in the morning. "
- Some loser on rr.com

eBay at it's finest:
Me: "What exactly is a 900Mhz UHF CB?"
Them: "A very nice CB at 900Mhz speed!"

:-?