Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

MCS2000 "Hack"?

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

bellersley
No Longer Registered
Posts: 872
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 7:03 am

MCS2000 "Hack"?

Postby bellersley » Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:33 am

Hey guys, here's an interesting one for you. I took a look at a friend's MCS2000 (800MHz). Its Radio ID was programmed as "0". He didn't program it, rather he had a 2-way shop do it for him. I know the Maxtrac and GTX radios would take 700000 as a radio ID, but I've never heard of an MCS2000 being able to do that. Any idea how they would have gone about doing so? I'm guessing some kind of CPS/RSS hack would be involved, or could you just hex-edit the codeplug / S-Record?

Rayjk110
Banned
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 4:10 pm

Re: MCS2000 "Hack"?

Postby Rayjk110 » Wed Oct 10, 2007 7:31 am

Possibly shift key if it's RSS? :P I too find it odd that it would accept 0 as a valid radio ID #. Did you try it yourself yet with your own setup?



In a [somewhat] related matter....I know all of my Astro portables will accept the Modat ID as 0 (which makes it sound cooler by the way - I never could figure out why).

bellersley
No Longer Registered
Posts: 872
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 7:03 am

Re: MCS2000 "Hack"?

Postby bellersley » Wed Oct 10, 2007 10:02 am

Naw, tried the shift key but it didn't work (no surprise). I assume the reason they'd use an ID of 0 is so the radio wouldn't be successful at affiliating, nor would it ever get inhibited (to my knowledge, there's no way to send a command to a Radio ID of "0").


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests