Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Syntor X9000

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

ABANAKA
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 4:00 pm

Syntor X9000

Postby ABANAKA » Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:26 am

Using the scan mode is there a way to still receive the display frequency or mode even if that frequency or mode is not in the scan list? I found you can transmitt on that display frequency but you can't receive anything on it unless it is in the scan list. Has anyone worked around that or did I program something wrong?
Thanks

Jim202
Posts: 3558
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Syntor X9000

Postby Jim202 » Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:49 am

ABANAKA wrote:Using the scan mode is there a way to still receive the display frequency or mode even if that frequency or mode is not in the scan list? I found you can transmitt on that display frequency but you can't receive anything on it unless it is in the scan list. Has anyone worked around that or did I program something wrong?
Thanks


You should be able to receive on any channel that you have programmed into the radio and the head. It may not be in the
fixed scan list or what ever. I have some 155 channels in my radio and only the first 64 can be in any scan list. The rest
of them only function in the selected manual mode. As I step to each channel, I can receive what is on that single channel.

Jim

User avatar
HumHead
Moderator
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Syntor X9000

Postby HumHead » Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:55 am

The X9000 probably has the most versatile and flexible scan function of any Motorola product. As usual, that can get you into trouble as well.

When in scan, the X9000 will only receive modes that are in the list. If the current mode is not in the list, it will not be received during scan. Each mode has its own scan configuration, and the behavior when scan is activated will depend on the configuration of the list for the current mode. Additionally, you can mix operator selected and non operator selected entries in each list. The operator selected entries are; however, shared among all scan lists.

The usual best practice, if you want operator selectable scan, is to go into the list for each mode and assign that mode as a fixed P1 or P2 member, and the select the other positions as operator selectable. That way you will always scan the current mode, plus your operator selected list.
Amateurs train until they can do it right. Professionals train until they cannot do it wrong.

User avatar
Pj
Moderator
Posts: 5143
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: X9000 thru APX

Re: Syntor X9000

Postby Pj » Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:34 pm

I'm a bit rusty with them, but in one of the screens you can make everything a non-pri channel, then select selected channel as a P1. Saves some time, but as Humhead said...it can be painful.
Lowband radio. The original and non-complicated wide area interoperable communications system
Image

N9LLO
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Syntor X9000

Postby N9LLO » Sun Oct 03, 2010 1:25 am

It can be a pain but once its done it works great. I think this is the only radio Motorola made that does a goods job as a scanner also. Mine seems to rx narrowband pretty well also. I havent tried to decode pl on a narrowband signal with it though. That would be an interesting experiment.

Chris
N9LLO

User avatar
wx4cbh
Posts: 337
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 6:01 pm

Re: Syntor X9000

Postby wx4cbh » Mon Oct 04, 2010 7:39 pm

I have a VHF high band Syntor X that has absolutely no problem with PL levels as low as ~0.150 KHz deviation on the bench anywhere in its rated freq spread (haven't tried it at lower levels), and is so far fine receiving narrowband freqs with PL. In fact, I have found that as long as any Moto from the Syntor generation to present is properly tuned, it will have no problem with decoding subtones down into the noise levels. I haven't experimented with wide spreads to the very edges of the receiver ranges, but as for what I have actually observed inside the normal spreads, you should be good to go. I have a 99 ch MT1000 VHF high band that easily decodes and unmutes at .08 uV @ 0.300 KHz deviation anywhere in the freqs in it from 151 MHz to 163 MHz. Can't really copy any intelligible conversation at that signal level, but the PL decodes just fine. YMMV however.
curmudgeon.....and I like it.


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests