Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

x9000 dual drawer out of band

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

N9LLO
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2001 4:00 pm

x9000 dual drawer out of band

Postby N9LLO » Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:55 am

Is there a way to get the UHF radio on the dual radio setup into the ham band. The RSS I found does not support it. Is there an easy fix with a hex editor or a different version of dual drawer RSS?

Chris
N9LLO

jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Postby jmr061 » Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:42 am

It has been 10+ years since I have played with these but if memory serves me right I would create a plug with the dual drawer software, just not enter the freqs...the read with the ham software and put the freqs in and write to the radio. The plug actually keeps its dual drawer status/assignment this way.

Jason

Jim202
Posts: 3567
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Postby Jim202 » Sat Jul 09, 2011 7:37 pm

N9LLO wrote:Is there a way to get the UHF radio on the dual radio setup into the ham band. The RSS I found does not support it. Is there an easy fix with a hex editor or a different version of dual drawer RSS?

Chris
N9LLO


Keep looking around. There is a Ham version or two of the software that will allow out of band operation for all 3 bands (low band, VHF, UHF).

Jim

User avatar
Pj
Moderator
Posts: 5143
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: X9000 thru APX

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Postby Pj » Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:01 pm

The procedure is....

Program the dual radios as such. Just put one channel in each and make sure one is programmed as primary and one as secondary.

Disconnect the radios and then hook them up as you would as you would as single radios. Use the HAM RSS (when you find it) then program up what you need.

What happens is that the dual radio RSS sets a bit that the HAM (and normal RSS) does not touch. This allows you to write the radios without losing the primary or secondary setting. When done, load up the dual radio CHPROG and program up your control head, and your in business.
Lowband radio. The original and non-complicated wide area interoperable communications system
Image

N9LLO
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Postby N9LLO » Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:11 am

Its been a long time since I messed with x9k's I had forgotten about the double programming trick. I last used that trick to setup a VHF VRS in a 440-470 unit a very long time ago.


Thanks for the info.
Chris
N9LLO

N9LLO
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Postby N9LLO » Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:39 pm

I have not had any luck with the double programming procedure. I am using dual drawer version 4.03sp creating a primary radio and programming it sucessfully ignoring the error l41-10 for the missing drawer.
Then programming with Ham 502 it still comes up with the error 41-10 so it still knows it is a dual setup but I also get a looping fail 1-90
I am using a stock 1063B head on this, I had one guy tell me I needed an old 1036 head to slow things down on the bus. Any ideas out there?

Thanks
Chris N9LLO

N9LLO
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Postby N9LLO » Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:41 pm

P.S. I think I have figured out which bits in the codeplug set single, primary , or dual radio. Does anyone have the x9000 codeplug checksum figured out?

Chris

User avatar
Motofanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Postby Motofanatic » Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:25 am

N9LLO wrote:P.S. I think I have figured out which bits in the codeplug set single, primary , or dual radio. Does anyone have the x9000 codeplug checksum figured out?
Chris

It is a 16-bit accumulated checksum in big-endian from 0x05 to 0x2000


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests