Page 1 of 1

x9000 dual drawer out of band

Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:55 am
by N9LLO
Is there a way to get the UHF radio on the dual radio setup into the ham band. The RSS I found does not support it. Is there an easy fix with a hex editor or a different version of dual drawer RSS?

Chris
N9LLO

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:42 am
by jmr061
It has been 10+ years since I have played with these but if memory serves me right I would create a plug with the dual drawer software, just not enter the freqs...the read with the ham software and put the freqs in and write to the radio. The plug actually keeps its dual drawer status/assignment this way.

Jason

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 7:37 pm
by Jim202
N9LLO wrote:Is there a way to get the UHF radio on the dual radio setup into the ham band. The RSS I found does not support it. Is there an easy fix with a hex editor or a different version of dual drawer RSS?

Chris
N9LLO


Keep looking around. There is a Ham version or two of the software that will allow out of band operation for all 3 bands (low band, VHF, UHF).

Jim

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:01 pm
by Pj
The procedure is....

Program the dual radios as such. Just put one channel in each and make sure one is programmed as primary and one as secondary.

Disconnect the radios and then hook them up as you would as you would as single radios. Use the HAM RSS (when you find it) then program up what you need.

What happens is that the dual radio RSS sets a bit that the HAM (and normal RSS) does not touch. This allows you to write the radios without losing the primary or secondary setting. When done, load up the dual radio CHPROG and program up your control head, and your in business.

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:11 am
by N9LLO
Its been a long time since I messed with x9k's I had forgotten about the double programming trick. I last used that trick to setup a VHF VRS in a 440-470 unit a very long time ago.


Thanks for the info.
Chris
N9LLO

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:39 pm
by N9LLO
I have not had any luck with the double programming procedure. I am using dual drawer version 4.03sp creating a primary radio and programming it sucessfully ignoring the error l41-10 for the missing drawer.
Then programming with Ham 502 it still comes up with the error 41-10 so it still knows it is a dual setup but I also get a looping fail 1-90
I am using a stock 1063B head on this, I had one guy tell me I needed an old 1036 head to slow things down on the bus. Any ideas out there?

Thanks
Chris N9LLO

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:41 pm
by N9LLO
P.S. I think I have figured out which bits in the codeplug set single, primary , or dual radio. Does anyone have the x9000 codeplug checksum figured out?

Chris

Re: x9000 dual drawer out of band

Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:25 am
by Motofanatic
N9LLO wrote:P.S. I think I have figured out which bits in the codeplug set single, primary , or dual radio. Does anyone have the x9000 codeplug checksum figured out?
Chris

It is a 16-bit accumulated checksum in big-endian from 0x05 to 0x2000