Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Quantar linking onsite via v.24 and wireline

This forum is for discussions regarding System Infrastructure and Related Equipment. This includes but is not limited to repeaters, base stations, consoles, voters, Voice over IP, system design and implementation, and other related topics.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

W7BEQ
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:43 pm
What radios do you own?: way to many

Quantar linking onsite via v.24 and wireline

Postby W7BEQ » Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:37 pm

Looking for info on linking 2 quantar repeaters onsite via v.24 and wireline. I see reference to a rt/rt but links are dead. Is this as simple as a shielded cat 5 cable to the v.24 ports? Any help appreciated. There does not seem to be info in the service manual I have. Thanks
always trying to learn new things

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1854
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: Quantar linking onsite via v.24 and wireline

Postby motorola_otaku » Sun Feb 18, 2018 9:24 pm

No, the V.24 connections need to use a null/crossover cable. See here: http://www.qsl.net/kb9mwr/projects/dv/a ... facing.pdf
The easiest way I've found to do it is to make a short cable terminating in a keystone jack and punch the crossover connections there, then you can use any Cat5 cable between the keystone jack and the second Quantar. V.24 null/crossover is required for a direct connection between a Quantar and any other device, be it a DIU, AstroTAC, or another Quantar.

Yes, RT/RT needs to be enabled in the Astro Wireline config. RT/RT is only used when connecting two Quantars back to back (side note: P25NX "tricks" the connected Quantars into thinking they're only connected to one other repeater, which is why you need to enable it for that.) You also need to set the External Transmit Clock to Disabled.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

W7BEQ
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:43 pm
What radios do you own?: way to many

Re: Quantar linking onsite via v.24 and wireline

Postby W7BEQ » Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:55 am

Thank you for that info!!
always trying to learn new things


Return to “Base Stations, Repeaters, General Infrastructure”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests