Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

800 Mhz Quantar as base station.

This forum is for discussions regarding System Infrastructure and Related Equipment. This includes but is not limited to repeaters, base stations, consoles, voters, Voice over IP, system design and implementation, and other related topics.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

W7BEQ
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:43 pm
What radios do you own?: way to many

800 Mhz Quantar as base station.

Postby W7BEQ » Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:37 am

Wanting to use a 800 MHz quantar repeater as a remote base. Problem is one of the channels needs to be a repeater channel. How do you go about reversing the frequencies in that unit. In the 800 MHz Quantar they seem to only let you tx in high 800mhz portion, and RX in the low 800 MHz portion. I need the opposite to access a repeater. Thanks
always trying to learn new things

JeffFireRadio
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:39 am

Re: 800 Mhz Quantar as base station.

Postby JeffFireRadio » Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:50 am

Have you installed the antenna switch kit to convert it back to a base station, programmed it as a base station (vice repeater) and then tried programming it with the frequencies you desire?

W7BEQ
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:43 pm
What radios do you own?: way to many

Re: 800 Mhz Quantar as base station.

Postby W7BEQ » Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:33 pm

JeffFireRadio wrote:Have you installed the antenna switch kit to convert it back to a base station, programmed it as a base station (vice repeater) and then tried programming it with the frequencies you desire?

No that's a great idea!! I will give that a shot. thanks
always trying to learn new things

W7BEQ
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:43 pm
What radios do you own?: way to many

Re: 800 Mhz Quantar as base station.

Postby W7BEQ » Sun Feb 18, 2018 9:36 am

Unfortunately that did not work. The modules seem to be out of range. Does anyone know the part numbers for the correct modules?
always trying to learn new things

Karl NVW
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:13 am

Re: 800 Mhz Quantar as base station.

Postby Karl NVW » Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:40 pm

800 MHz Quantar was never offered with a control station frequency plan (Tx low), just as a repeater with Tx high.
Karl - WA8NVW AFA5VB
SHARES + NCS

W7BEQ
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:43 pm
What radios do you own?: way to many

Re: 800 Mhz Quantar as base station.

Postby W7BEQ » Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:09 pm

Karl NVW wrote:800 MHz Quantar was never offered with a control station frequency plan (Tx low), just as a repeater with Tx high.

What would you recommend to use as a remote base for 800mhz then any ideas? I am using p25
always trying to learn new things

JeffFireRadio
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:39 am

Re: 800 Mhz Quantar as base station.

Postby JeffFireRadio » Sat Apr 14, 2018 5:51 am

XTL5000 or APX Consolette.


Return to “Base Stations, Repeaters, General Infrastructure”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests