Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Quantar channel capacity

This forum is for discussions regarding System Infrastructure and Related Equipment. This includes but is not limited to repeaters, base stations, consoles, voters, Voice over IP, system design and implementation, and other related topics.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
kcbooboo
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 2111
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 9:03 am

Quantar channel capacity

Postby kcbooboo » Fri May 09, 2008 3:45 am

VHF Quantar base station: how many channels can a stock unit be programmed to operate on?

I know that an MSF5000 can hold 4 channels/modes, or up to 16 if you add external EEPROMs.

Never dealt with MTR2000s, but I suspect they too can do more than one channel/mode per station, within tuning limits.

Just wondering about a Quantar, using any kind of control (digital, tone, etc).

If you can point me to a PDF spec file that has this, it'll be good enough.

Thanks.

Bob M.

Lake Effect
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 9:47 am

Re: Quantar channel capacity

Postby Lake Effect » Fri May 09, 2008 4:34 am

Found specs on MOL saying 16 channel standard for conventional station.

L.E.

User avatar
kcbooboo
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 2111
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 9:03 am

Re: Quantar channel capacity

Postby kcbooboo » Fri May 09, 2008 6:58 am

Thanks.

I also found a Quantar brochure on a Motorola site, and buried in the fine print it said it had the capacity for 16 frequencies.

Case closed.

Bob M.

RKG
Posts: 2629
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Quantar channel capacity

Postby RKG » Fri May 09, 2008 10:24 am

Yes, 16 discrete channels. Constructing something to change channels is an interesting proposition; the easiest way is via Function Tones and programming the FT screen to change channels based on FT input. Alternatively, the Quantar has the ability to perform binary channel selection based on strobing auxiliary inputs.

The Quantar's repeater controller also has the ability to do Multiple PL, with some limitations.

George
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 11:14 am
What radios do you own?: X9000, HT1550XLS, MTS2000, etc

Re: Quantar channel capacity

Postby George » Mon Sep 17, 2018 4:54 am

What are the limitations of MPL on a Quantar?

Can it act like a community repeater with PL in and PL out on some users and DPL in and DPL out on other users?

Can it do cross coding?

Can it do DPL in and PL out?


Return to “Base Stations, Repeaters, General Infrastructure”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest