MINITOR VI (YES 6)

This forum is focused on discussing Digital and Voice paging equipment, protocol's, infrastructure, and Motorola specific hardware used. Please refrain from discussing different ways to monitor the digital paging systems due to the legalities of such.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

jmr3865
2 Warnings for RSS/CPS Wanted/For Sale
Posts: 1015
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 11:33 am
What radios do you own?: KW tk2170, tk730, etc.

MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by jmr3865 »

What would you all like to see in a Minitor 6?

RECAP:

pl's
checkbox programming
emergency transmit
more channels!
different colors
keep min 5 knobs
water resistant
LOUDER
MINITOR II BEEP (the best)
locking clip
select call on all channels (if more channels than 2)
keep the same design as the 5 except to go back to the minitor 3 charger and batteries

$0.02
Last edited by jmr3865 on Sat Apr 23, 2005 6:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JMR
KC2QVO
User avatar
mr.syntrx
Posts: 1587
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:09 pm

Post by mr.syntrx »

If you want transmit, why not buy a radio?
jmr3865
2 Warnings for RSS/CPS Wanted/For Sale
Posts: 1015
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 11:33 am
What radios do you own?: KW tk2170, tk730, etc.

Post by jmr3865 »

yea, they are cheaper, but then everybody can transmit, do we want that? usualy we keep extra radio's on the truck! and they are bigger! It is more of a pain carrying a radio then a pager!
JMR
KC2QVO
User avatar
Cam
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 786
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 2:59 pm

Post by Cam »

Well if you put a transmiter in then you:

1)Will have a larger "pager" (can't really call it that).
2)"They" will be able to transmit, which is would seem you don't want them to do.
3)It would have a larger battery.
4)It will need an antanna.

You would have (wait for it) a portable radio. Motorola already makes those. :wink:
User avatar
kd6kml
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2000 4:00 pm

Post by kd6kml »

As a tech, the only thing I would like it to see the thing built in a way so I don't see a half dozen of them in a week with various intermittent problems....
tvsjr
Posts: 4118
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:46 am

Post by tvsjr »

Yep, transmit capability is pointless. If they make it a decent transmitter, it's going to be a portable radio. This is a *pager*.

What I'd like to see:
Programmable alerts (no gay-ass "ringtones", but custom tones like the Advisor Elites allow)
APCO P25 Phase 1 (probably 2 too, by the time the Min6 comes out) decode (although this is going to be challenging, given the power budget and physical size limitations of a pager)
Optional submersible rating (something like the Saber2R... submersible to 6 feet, not intended for going diving)
PL/DPL decode
GIVE ME MY RED CASE BACK! (The Minitor 2SV with the red case is *cool*.)
jmr3865
2 Warnings for RSS/CPS Wanted/For Sale
Posts: 1015
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 11:33 am
What radios do you own?: KW tk2170, tk730, etc.

Post by jmr3865 »

transmit for EMERGENCY PURPOSES ONLY. Like, it would only be able to transmit, once in the life of the pager or something. LOW wattage too! It would be a life saving tool like the harness's
JMR
KC2QVO
Station House Products
NOT ALLOWED TO BUY/SELL/TRADE
Posts: 727
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by Station House Products »

Plain and simple... a pager that works they way it should, when it should.
User avatar
jim
Posts: 2184
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by jim »

Kenwood build it.
User avatar
mikegilbert
Posts: 656
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 12:08 am
What radios do you own?: All of them

Post by mikegilbert »

How about the Swissphone Responder 529?

ImageImage

http://swissphone.com/_Swissphone/Docum ... nglish.pdf
Both the NOVA and Responder pagers are APCO-25 Phase One compatible for narrow band operation.
flickr | mikegilbertphotography.com
escomm wrote:Awesomesauce
Station House Products
NOT ALLOWED TO BUY/SELL/TRADE
Posts: 727
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by Station House Products »

I've heard the Responder is a great little pager. The only thing that scares me though is that digital display. The guys around here have a hard enough time just keeping the damn belt clips from breaking and I shudder at the thought of giving them something with an LCD.
User avatar
radio-link
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 8:49 am

Post by radio-link »

Station House Products wrote:I've heard the Responder is a great little pager. The only thing that scares me though is that digital display. The guys around here have a hard enough time just keeping the damn belt clips from breaking and I shudder at the thought of giving them something with an LCD.
I do repairs with the Swissphone pagers all day, in act the display and the belt clip fail often, also sometimes the antenna and a 455KHz cer filter.
regards - Ralph, dk5ras

--

Ralph A. Schmid http://www.radio-link.net ralph@radio-link.net ICQ 18806064
Tel./SMS +49-171-3631223
thebigphish
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 10:10 pm
What radios do you own?: AM/FM

Post by thebigphish »

jmr3865 wrote:transmit for EMERGENCY PURPOSES ONLY. Like, it would only be able to transmit, once in the life of the pager or something. LOW wattage too! It would be a life saving tool like the harness's
like what kind of emergency purposes??? and why make it once??? think about it. If you just so happen to get stuck inside a falling down house, with just your pager...why the F*** did you go in w/o appropriate gear?

thanks but no thanks.
RRrobby
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 8:31 am

min V

Post by RRrobby »

jmr3865 wrote
What would you all like to see in a Minitor 6?


How about a pager that works as good and is as reliable as a Minitor II?
User avatar
Cam
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 786
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 2:59 pm

Post by Cam »

thebigphish wrote:
jmr3865 wrote:transmit for EMERGENCY PURPOSES ONLY. Like, it would only be able to transmit, once in the life of the pager or something. LOW wattage too! It would be a life saving tool like the harness's
like what kind of emergency purposes??? and why make it once??? think about it. If you just so happen to get stuck inside a falling down house, with just your pager...why the F*** did you go in w/o appropriate gear?

thanks but no thanks.
Yep, think about what you are saying here. If you build it so it can do it one time you still have to have all the same things. If there is a chance that you need to transmit then you should be carrying your radio--not your pager.

Don't get me wrong, I'm sure it would be nice to have a radio as small as a pager that could do all you want it to but with todays tech. it not going to happen.
User avatar
Hoseman292
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 1:37 pm
What radios do you own?: too many

Post by Hoseman292 »

Hmmm....

How about a tone and voice pager (VHF/UHF) coupled with an alphanumeric FLEX paging function (VHF/UHF/800-900).

Separate receivers and decoders but programmed with common software.

Mostly everyone I work with carries atleast two pagers. I think it would be great to integrate both into one unit. :)

Tim
Silver Spring Maryland
Batboard $upporter
________________________________________
Hoseman292@aol.com
Garyf629
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 5:45 pm

Post by Garyf629 »

If it has more than one channel, NO SCAN!
User avatar
radio-link
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 8:49 am

Post by radio-link »

Hoseman292 wrote:Hmmm....

How about a tone and voice pager (VHF/UHF) coupled with an alphanumeric FLEX paging function (VHF/UHF/800-900).

Separate receivers and decoders but programmed with common software.

Mostly everyone I work with carries atleast two pagers. I think it would be great to integrate both into one unit. :)

Tim
Silver Spring Maryland
Swissphone has a dual pager, receiving simultaneously on 2m VHF and 70cm UHF, both POCSAG.
regards - Ralph, dk5ras

--

Ralph A. Schmid http://www.radio-link.net ralph@radio-link.net ICQ 18806064
Tel./SMS +49-171-3631223
User avatar
Hoseman292
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 1:37 pm
What radios do you own?: too many

Post by Hoseman292 »

Thanks Ralph.

Can Swissphone's pager decode Quikcall II and Pocsag or FLEX simultaneously? If so, I have a bunch of folks that would line up for blocks to buy one (or two) :)

Thanks for the info.

Tim N3WIR
Silver Spring, MD.
Batboard $upporter
________________________________________
Hoseman292@aol.com
User avatar
mr.syntrx
Posts: 1587
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:09 pm

Post by mr.syntrx »

Garyf629 wrote:If it has more than one channel, NO SCAN!
Gotta love 5-tone!
User avatar
radio-link
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 8:49 am

Post by radio-link »

Hoseman292 wrote:Thanks Ralph.

Can Swissphone's pager decode Quikcall II and Pocsag or FLEX simultaneously? If so, I have a bunch of folks that would line up for blocks to buy one (or two) :)

Thanks for the info.

Tim N3WIR
Silver Spring, MD.
Here in germany we just use 5-tone or POCSAG, and AFAIK there is no combination, being able to decode two differens standards on different channels. 5-tone is mainly used on 4m (VHF midband), POCSAG on 2m for fire brigades and paramedics, on 70cm for business users. The 2m/70cm was intended to be used to have the private or companies pager and the firefighters pager in one unit.
regards - Ralph, dk5ras

--

Ralph A. Schmid http://www.radio-link.net ralph@radio-link.net ICQ 18806064
Tel./SMS +49-171-3631223
jjames7497
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:21 pm

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by jjames7497 »

it would be nice to be able to transmit so you don't have 2-3 different radios on your hip
thebigphish
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 10:10 pm
What radios do you own?: AM/FM

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by thebigphish »

this weeks Lazarus award goes to.....jjames7497! !?
"How do you plan to outwit Death?"
"With a knight and bishop combination; I will destroy his flank.
" --Antonious Block
User avatar
K8TEK
"Dark Chocolate"
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:40 pm
What radios do you own?: Dynatac

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by K8TEK »

Cool first post bro. Why was this post even approved?
K8TEK::Tim
User avatar
n3eg
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 2:38 pm
What radios do you own?: HT1550 v/u, XTS2500-1, etc

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by n3eg »

* A more reliable RF section
* A charging/battery system that doesn't pit the charger contacts
* Pager side charging contacts that are easier to clean
* Programmable voice prompts and alerts (i.e. PAGING FIRE ONE, PAGING FIRE TWO")
* Longer voice storage, like an Icom F50V
* PARTS THAT WE CAN ACTUALLY ORDER FROM MOTOROLA!!! Oh yeah, and a SERVICE MANUAL.
com501
Posts: 1062
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Over 50 - All Motorola

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by com501 »

This thread is SEVEN YEARS OLD!!
ASTROMODAT
Posts: 1804
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 12:32 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by ASTROMODAT »

Annular slot array w/ receive space diversity, P25 phase II, AES, 50% smaller chassis volume, same audio output level as APX7000, half the cost of Minitor IV
thebigphish
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 10:10 pm
What radios do you own?: AM/FM

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by thebigphish »

Hello.

FPP, and I have one.
You cannot have it.
I am not FED.

the thief.
"How do you plan to outwit Death?"
"With a knight and bishop combination; I will destroy his flank.
" --Antonious Block
ryolsen8
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:04 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by ryolsen8 »

My friend just told me and sent me Photos of the Minitor VI. A Dept in my area just recieved some. Anyone want Photos?
User avatar
d119
Posts: 3504
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by d119 »

I would like to see photos. Please post them here.
ryolsen8
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:04 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by ryolsen8 »

Here are the Photos of it:


Image
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by escomm »

Sorry we can't see images that are stored in your gmail account.
ryolsen8
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:04 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by ryolsen8 »

escomm wrote:Sorry we can't see images that are stored in your gmail account.
I don't know how to attach images to here other than the way I thought I did it...
Squad5
was mwb9122
Posts: 707
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by Squad5 »

I'm interested as well in seeing them
RFguy
Posts: 1357
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:17 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by RFguy »

Not that I doubt a Minitor VI exists at this time, but please post pictures of the Loch Ness Monster and a Big Foot while your at it :) :lol:
ryolsen8
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:04 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by ryolsen8 »

RFguy wrote:Not that I doubt a Minitor VI exists at this time, but please post pictures of the Loch Ness Monster and a Big Foot while your at it :) :lol:
I would, but I don't know how to post photos... How do I?
chrismoll12
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 11:22 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by chrismoll12 »

Upload photos to image hosting service , ie tinypic.com
User avatar
SteveC0625
Posts: 461
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:46 am
What radios do you own?: CDM's, CP's, CM's, and more

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by SteveC0625 »

ryolsen8 wrote:
RFguy wrote:Not that I doubt a Minitor VI exists at this time, but please post pictures of the Loch Ness Monster and a Big Foot while your at it :) :lol:
I would, but I don't know how to post photos... How do I?
If you are not familiar with posting pics into forums, I am offering to post them for you if you like. If this is agreeable, I'll send you my email address and you can then email them directly to me. I will post them here in this thread as soon as I get them.
ryolsen8
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:04 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by ryolsen8 »

I uploaded them to my Flickr Account, here they are.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Here is my Flickr URL if they did not work:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/94658104@N05/
RFguy
Posts: 1357
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:17 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by RFguy »

Thanks for posting the link (but I didn't find any pictures of the Loch Ness Monster or Big Foot there). :)
ryolsen8
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:04 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by ryolsen8 »

RFguy wrote:Thanks for posting the link (but I didn't find any pictures of the Loch Ness Monster or Big Foot there). :)
Yeah... Try this link:

Image

and this one:

Image

Enjoy! :)
User avatar
SteveC0625
Posts: 461
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:46 am
What radios do you own?: CDM's, CP's, CM's, and more

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by SteveC0625 »

I emailed my local Motorola guy. He tells me that there is nothing available to him right now and there was no mention of the Six at the Motorola Roadshow in Baltimore recently.

There's not a whisper about this anywhere that I can find, and yet the pictures certainly say otherwise..
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by escomm »

Interesting.

8 channels or 8 tone sets?
ryolsen8
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:04 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by ryolsen8 »

I hope for atleaat more than 2 Channels, would be nice!
User avatar
SteveC0625
Posts: 461
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:46 am
What radios do you own?: CDM's, CP's, CM's, and more

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by SteveC0625 »

escomm wrote:Interesting.

8 channels or 8 tone sets?
I suspect it's 8 functions controlling more than two channels.

Hopefully it'll handle more than 8 tone pairs and 4 long tones per channel plus expanded on/off duty.
ryolsen8
New User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:04 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by ryolsen8 »

Cool, I really want one! Hopefully Moto will tell some info soon.
NickH
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 9:19 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by NickH »

For a Minitor VI, I'd like to see the Min V with better reliability, particularly in the charging system. I have no need for more than 2 channels or TX on a PAGER, so I'd probably leave it as it is but add ramp-up alert tones like an FSA has. There's nothing worse than being bolted out of bed at 3am from a full volume alert tone.
RFguy
Posts: 1357
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:17 am

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by RFguy »

The word I have is that it's in beta test now. Expected release in mid-late Q1, 2014 (Around Feb/March, 2014). Maybe IWCE which is late March?
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by escomm »

Should be a fun ask at the upcoming roadshows... Glad the west coast roadshow is first this year :D
Squad5
was mwb9122
Posts: 707
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: MINITOR VI (YES 6)

Post by Squad5 »

Still no pics??
Post Reply

Return to “Motorola Digital and Voice Paging”