new laptop

This forum is dedicated to the general computer related issues we all come across on a daily basis, such as e-mail/Internet/Operating System/virus/spyware, etc questions & problems.

As we are primarily a radio discussion group, your mileage may vary on the responses.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

fire_master_21
Batboard $upporter
What radios do you own?: Motorola/Kenwood

new laptop

Post by fire_master_21 »

I am by no means a computer expert, but I am looking for a new laptop. What laptops are still being built with the 9 pin serial port. I am looking for the 9pin serial port and something faster. I have a few others for DOS programs, so I am not worried about that part. I am open as to what brand. Just need some help from those of you that deal with this more than me.
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.
Jim2121
Batboard $upporter
What radios do you own?: A few! Most I sign out!

Re: new laptop

Post by Jim2121 »

fire_master_21 wrote:I am by no means a computer expert, but I am looking for a new laptop. What laptops are still being built with the 9 pin serial port. I am looking for the 9pin serial port and something faster. I have a few others for DOS programs, so I am not worried about that part. I am open as to what brand. Just need some help from those of you that deal with this more than me.
You can try Dell, they have some sort of sale going on right now, (I didn't read it it came in my mailbox)
I went to Dell & told them what/how I wanted it built, two notebooks..
The RAM I put a 1 GIG in each one. (be careful with Dell with Ram, there starting to put a 256kb of Ram, proprietary to some notebooks, so somewhere in a dell notebook they hide 256kb mb of RAM.) later Jim

http://www.dell.com/content/products/ca ... l=en&s=bsd on more details to look around..
Last edited by Jim2121 on Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kb0nly
AKA: The Computer Doctor

Post by kb0nly »