Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

MTS2000 programming

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

OldDawg
New User
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:43 pm

MTS2000 programming

Postby OldDawg » Tue Jun 05, 2018 10:49 am

I have the dos version of the cps, and I have windows v2.3 as well. If I read the radio with the dos ver, it tells me the codeplug is too new for the ver of cps. When I connect it to the windows computer, it won't connect using the same hardware I was using on the dos computer (rib, cables, etc)

Any ideas on what I might be doing wrong?

I haven't touched an MTS2000 in YEARS......

User avatar
W3AXL
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:02 am
What radios do you own?: an unhealthy amount of them

Re: MTS2000 programming

Postby W3AXL » Tue Jun 05, 2018 4:09 pm

You need to be using 32 bit windows and preferably a hardware serial port. The serial implementation Moto uses for older CPS versions is not compatible with 64 bit OS's and while the application will run serial comms won't.

sjxts3000
Posts: 851
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: MTS2000 programming

Postby sjxts3000 » Tue Jun 05, 2018 5:45 pm

FWIW, I've used aftermarket RIB-less serial port programming cables with MTS2000 radios on Windows XP 32-bit without any issues at all. You don't need a RIB setup which costs 2x to 4x the price of an MTS2000 radio itself!

OldDawg
New User
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:43 pm

Re: MTS2000 programming

Postby OldDawg » Thu Jun 14, 2018 6:56 am

Ok, I was able to access the radio with a 32 bit machine. TY.

Anyone familiar with the Tuner application? It seems the changes I am making to TX output are not being saved, even though I'm applying the changes with the "PROGRAM" button in the window.

fineshot1
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:13 am

Re: MTS2000 programming

Postby fineshot1 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 5:54 pm

OldDawg wrote:Anyone familiar with the Tuner application? It seems the changes I am making to TX output are not being saved, even though I'm applying the changes with the "PROGRAM" button in the window.


As you make changes to each parameter and then program each one you must first exit the tuner
application and while the application is exiting it will program each parameter while exiting so do
not remove the program cable until you hear the beeps that the app is exited. After that go back
into the app and confirm your programed parameters have taken.
fineshot1
NJ USA

fineshot1
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:13 am

Re: MTS2000 programming

Postby fineshot1 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:40 am

fineshot1 wrote:
OldDawg wrote:Anyone familiar with the Tuner application? It seems the changes I am making to TX output are not being saved, even though I'm applying the changes with the "PROGRAM" button in the window.


As you make changes to each parameter and then program each one you must first exit the tuner
application and while the application is exiting it will program each parameter while exiting so do
not remove the program cable until you hear the beeps that the app is exited. After that go back
into the app and confirm your programed parameters have taken.


Forgot to add that as you push "program" to each button you will not hear any beeps - actually the app
puts each one of those in a que for later programing each at exit time thus the beeps as it exits.
fineshot1
NJ USA

OldDawg
New User
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:43 pm

Re: MTS2000 programming

Postby OldDawg » Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:44 am

ty kindly

fineshot1
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:13 am

Re: MTS2000 programming

Postby fineshot1 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 8:54 am

you are welcome - using the tuner with a service monitor makes it so easy to tune the radio.
if you are not doing that then good luck
fineshot1
NJ USA

OldDawg
New User
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:43 pm

Re: MTS2000 programming

Postby OldDawg » Wed Jun 20, 2018 8:58 am

Yes we have what we need.


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest