Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

CP200 CPS programming issue. COM Port

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

1crazymax
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:01 pm
What radios do you own?: CP200's, CM300, Baofeng UV-5RC

CP200 CPS programming issue. COM Port

Postby 1crazymax » Fri May 24, 2019 7:25 pm

To be quite honest I'm almost embarrassed to ask this. I've ran a search and looked through the forum for an answer. I have a Motorola CPS ver 5.16 I've used to program over a hundred radios, mainly CP200's, CP185's, etc. I'm using the same ribless USB cable I've used since the beginning and it's always worked flawlessly. I've had issues in the past with not being able to read a radio because of the wrong com port but resolved them in a couple of minutes. I've got a few radios I was going to program and for the life of me I can't get the CPS to read the radio, it says make sure it's plugged in and the cable connected and the right COM port is chosen. I've been messing with it for over 30 minutes now. I would usually use COM 4 but I've tried COM's 1,3,4,5,8 10, etc. to no avail. For a long time any time I needed to program a radio I would plug the cable up to PC then to radio, open CPS and turn radio only and never had to change a thing. Now it seems like every time I turn around I'm having a COM port issue. I'm using Windons 7. Thanks in advance for any help that may be given.

User avatar
jackhackett
Posts: 1455
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 8:52 am

Re: CP200 CPS programming issue. COM Port

Postby jackhackett » Sat May 25, 2019 6:49 am

You might have a bad connection to the radio. The external mic jack used for programming is notorious for going bad on CP200s, I've probably replaced hundreds of them. Have you tried several radios? Have you tried a radio that you know you were able to read before? It's also possible that your cable has gone bad.

1crazymax
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:01 pm
What radios do you own?: CP200's, CM300, Baofeng UV-5RC

Re: CP200 CPS programming issue. COM Port

Postby 1crazymax » Sat May 25, 2019 12:17 pm

Yes sir. I tried 3 radios which were the last I programmed, plus the 3 other radios needing to be programmed. None of which would read. I'm also using the same USB port I have already used. Thanks for the reply.

com501
Posts: 1060
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Over 50 - All Motorola

Re: CP200 CPS programming issue. COM Port

Postby com501 » Tue May 28, 2019 10:21 am

Try a different adapter. Does the USB Serial adapter show up in Device Manager? If it doesn't show up, a new adapter is needed. In DM you can specify what port to use for the adapter.

User avatar
Astro Spectra
Posts: 636
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: CP200 CPS programming issue. COM Port

Postby Astro Spectra » Tue May 28, 2019 12:54 pm

To echo com501's point, randomly trying com ports is a waste of time. If it's not showing in Device Manager (in Control Panel) then it doesn't exist. One issue is occasionally Windows decides the Motorola radio is a modem and not a serial port but again DM will show you that.


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests