Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Astro Saber programming help - video

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

asmitty0010
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 3:48 pm

Astro Saber programming help - video

Postby asmitty0010 » Tue Mar 17, 2020 1:50 pm

See link to see what I'm dealing with. I'm using a true windows XP machine with a true serial port - no USB adapters. Using OEM xts3000/astro Saber CPS - latest and last version. RIB and cable are aftermarket and it is a cable for the astro not non Astro Saber. I have tried a wall wart for the rib and 2 brand new 9v batteries with the same result. I've also charged the Astro Saber battery 100%.

As you can see in the video upon hitting read the radio will emit the standard alert tone and the Data light on the RIB blinks. But a few seconds later it gives me the error of the communication failed. Is this a bad RIB or bad cable or both? Is there any speed adjustments in the comm settings thats need to be tweaked? I've only worked with ribless and usb cables before.

Thanks


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9Lf1YK ... e=youtu.be

User avatar
Doug
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Astro Saber programming help - video

Postby Doug » Tue Mar 17, 2020 2:30 pm

I maybe reaching here.... I bet your computer is 64 bit processor, I had issue with several different radios started running rss on a 32 bit and worked without fail
Doug
May the Schwarz be with you.

asmitty0010
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 3:48 pm

Re: Astro Saber programming help - video

Postby asmitty0010 » Tue Mar 17, 2020 4:44 pm

Doug thanks for the info I will check.

Thanks

asmitty0010
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 3:48 pm

Re: Astro Saber programming help - video

Postby asmitty0010 » Tue Mar 17, 2020 6:15 pm

I just loaded this onto a windows 98 machine and its giving me the same issue. I think the rib is no good

DJP126
Posts: 868
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 6:41 am
What radios do you own?: What's a radio?

Re: Astro Saber programming help - video

Postby DJP126 » Fri Mar 20, 2020 3:24 pm

The RIB has a 5 V supply (78L05), a -5 V supply and 4 protect diodes on the Bus+ and Bus- lines. These are the usual failure points.
Dave

asmitty0010
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 3:48 pm

Re: Astro Saber programming help - video

Postby asmitty0010 » Sat Mar 21, 2020 3:31 pm

Are these known to be bad even purchasing them new on eBay? Are they just hit or miss most of the time?

thanks for the responses.

Karl NVW
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:13 am

Re: Astro Saber programming help - video

Postby Karl NVW » Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:49 pm

Just confirming, both the RIB and the cable are third-party non-Moto hardware, and your CPS is the very last version. Very few people here can vouch for their suitability.

As I recall, some old versions of ASTRO CPS won't do a one-hop upgrade straight to the last version. You might need to first upgrade through an intermediate version before your "Rev ZZ" can be used.

Next I would suggest contacting a Motorola service shop for help. You kinda need to know three things:
First, can they tell you what version RSS was last used to write data into your ASTRO Saber?
Second, ask them if that version of CPS needed a 2-step upgrade. Other folks here on Batlabs should also be able to provide that detail.
Third, ask them to read your radio and save the current codeplug data file onto a USB drive that you will provide them.
Then you can archive it on your PC, manipulate it off-line on your CPS, and eventually try to reload.
HTH
Karl - WA8NVW AFA5VB
SHARES + NCS

asmitty0010
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 3:48 pm

Re: Astro Saber programming help - video

Postby asmitty0010 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:17 am

I asked the seller what he used to program and it was last programmed with the latest CPS via an XP machine. I just got my replacement aftermarket RIB today with the same results. I have no idea why it won't read.

Thanks.

kd5ual
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 10:28 am

Re: Astro Saber programming help - video

Postby kd5ual » Mon Mar 23, 2020 12:07 pm

open the db25 rib connector and verify the wire connections to pins 1 15 6 and a jumper between pins 4 11
if you find connections to pins 1 15 8 that is for the analog saber.
the radio end of the cable is the same for both.
hope this helps.
wendell

asmitty0010
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 3:48 pm

Re: Astro Saber programming help - video

Postby asmitty0010 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 1:09 pm

I've opened it up and it does appear to be the correct ASTRO saber cable. I have no idea. Could it be something in the radio intself? something in the flex internally?

thanks


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest