Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

cdm1250 remote head problem

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

cduda
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:39 am
What radios do you own?: GP300, HT1250, CDM1250

cdm1250 remote head problem

Postby cduda » Fri Dec 30, 2011 12:54 pm

Hello. I am running a CDM1250 remote head and I am having a problem where the head display goes out. When it turns on, you head the beep beep and voice transmissions at a low volume, but no display. All connections and so forth are fine as all this is new.

Looking for some help on fixing.

Thanks

Al
Posts: 1045
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: cdm1250 remote head problem

Postby Al » Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:29 pm

Caleb, have you disassembled the remote head to check for proper PC board seating in the plastic front of the control head? There are four fiberglass tabs on the head's PC board that fit into slots around the inside of the head's plastic. If any of these tabs are not seated correctly the LCD in the head will not make contact with the PC board's contact area. Then you will see a partial display or no display.

cduda
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:39 am
What radios do you own?: GP300, HT1250, CDM1250

Re: cdm1250 remote head problem

Postby cduda » Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:53 pm

As far as I know, they are. It comes and goes as far as working and not. Will this cause the intermittent issues ?

User avatar
HLA
Posts: 2334
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 8:15 pm
What radios do you own?: HT1550's, X9000's, CDM1550's

Re: cdm1250 remote head problem

Postby HLA » Sat Dec 31, 2011 8:18 pm

Have you tried putting the head back on the radio and see if it comes back to life?
HLA
I never check PM's so don't bother, just email me.
I won't reply to a hotmail, gmail, aol or any other generic free address, if you want me to reply use a real address.
STOP ASKING ME FOR SOFTWARE OR FIRMWARE, I JUST FORWARD ALL OF THE REQUESTS TO THE MODERATORS

cduda
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:39 am
What radios do you own?: GP300, HT1250, CDM1250

Re: cdm1250 remote head problem

Postby cduda » Mon Jan 02, 2012 3:15 pm

I have not put the radio back to normal. I have been out of town a few days. I was hoping to get a few ideas prior to ripping into it.

cduda
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:39 am
What radios do you own?: GP300, HT1250, CDM1250

Re: cdm1250 remote head problem

Postby cduda » Mon Jan 02, 2012 5:56 pm

I checked all the connections in the head and all seated as should be. For example, today it was working fine. I try now and hear the beeps but no display. Didn't hit any bumps or rough roads

Al
Posts: 1045
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: cdm1250 remote head problem

Postby Al » Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:59 pm

If you haven't already done so, I'd do as HLA suggested and reinstall the control head on the CDM chassis to eliminate the remote interface circuitry. If you still see display problems and you can troubleshoot at the control head PC board level and have the service manual that's where to go. If not, a replacement control head is the way to go(IIRC it's a GCN 6114_, C is the current version).

cduda
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:39 am
What radios do you own?: GP300, HT1250, CDM1250

Re: cdm1250 remote head problem

Postby cduda » Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:56 pm

I determined the head to be bad. What do these cost to repair or replace ?


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests