Radius P110 6 channel expansion?

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
KC9MDQ
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:50 pm
What radios do you own?: Motorola,Vertex, Kenwood

Radius P110 6 channel expansion?

Post by KC9MDQ »

Howdy gang. In a box full of donated GM300's, I found an unexpected P110 portable! This donation keeps getting sweeter and sweeter. I've been told that if the radio was manufactured prior to 94' that it can be expanded with a certain software package. I'm pretty sure that mine was made in 95, but I am enclosing the number just to be sure. "MADE IN MALAYSIA BY MOTOROLA 95/7/29. . My question is this : if the radio was indeed manufactured after 1994, is there no way to expand the channels or firmware?
Powered by Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
RadioSouth
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Radius P100 6 channel expansion?

Post by RadioSouth »

Nope. From memory I'm thinking 4/93 was about the cutoff.
kd5ual
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 10:28 am

Re: Radius P100 6 channel expansion?

Post by kd5ual »

the change was made sometime in 94 and only applied to the 2 channel radios is my under standing, if your radio already has 6 channels you may be able to get 16
wendell
User avatar
KC9MDQ
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:50 pm
What radios do you own?: Motorola,Vertex, Kenwood

Re: Radius P100 6 channel expansion?

Post by KC9MDQ »

Alrighty. It sounds like it's worth a shot. Does anyone know the name of the software package? I've tried searching for GPUtilities, and GPToolkit, with variations of the name. No such luck so far.
Powered by Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
kd5ual
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 10:28 am

Re: Radius P100 6 channel expansion?

Post by kd5ual »

check out the Batlabs Model specific page for P110 GP300 lots of good info
wendell
User avatar
KC9MDQ
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:50 pm
What radios do you own?: Motorola,Vertex, Kenwood

Re: Radius P100 6 channel expansion?

Post by KC9MDQ »

Yup. That was my first stop after I found it. Unfortunately, it did not seem to have any of the specific information I am looking for. I will re-read the page to see if there's anything I missed.
Powered by Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Jim202
Posts: 3582
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Radius P100 6 channel expansion?

Post by Jim202 »

Can't give specifics on the p100, but I know that the P110 was able to be modified way back when. You had to go into the software and make a change to a file. After that, the radio could only be changed with the modified software. It could not be read with the normal software that didn't have the mod added to it. Think the radio went from 8 channels to 16 channels.

You also had to take the mechanical stop out of the channel switch to allow for the added positions. There was a pin that you had to pull out.

Been some 20 years since I did the change to those portables.

Jim
kd5ual
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 10:28 am

Re: Radius P100 6 channel expansion?

Post by kd5ual »

KC9MDQ wrote:Yup. That was my first stop after I found it. Unfortunately, it did not seem to have any of the specific information I am looking for. I will re-read the page to see if there's anything I missed.
make sure you study the Hoffis pages linked there
wendell
User avatar
KC9MDQ
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:50 pm
What radios do you own?: Motorola,Vertex, Kenwood

Re: Radius P100 6 channel expansion?

Post by KC9MDQ »

The radio is actually aP110; I fat-fingered the thread title.
Powered by Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7339
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Radius P100 6 channel expansion?

Post by wavetar »

KC9MDQ wrote:The radio is actually aP110; I fat-fingered the thread title.
Fixed it for you.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
Post Reply

Return to “Radio Programming”