Maxtrac RSS Questions

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

jdownj
New User

Maxtrac RSS Questions

Post by jdownj »

I am new to the Moto world, although I have acquired a large lot of radios on that auction site we all know and hate. I am going to need to do some programming.

I understand that RVN4019K is the most recent revision of the software, and that I will need an ancient computer to run it. I know that the license agreement does not permit copies to be shared, and this board does not permit asking for copies. I am trying to find out how to obtain it LEGALLY, but I am being told that it is No Longer Available, at any price. The auction site doesn't have any(and if I understand correctly, even selling used original disks is against the license agreement). My local dealer says that these radios are too old for him to program. Is my only option to mail the radios to somebody who has the software?

Also for some of the repairs that I foresee, the "Labs" version of the software may be needed. Does anybody know a part # for this? Or is that a product that never should have left a Moto authorized dealer?

Thanks for any help!
Nathan
PETNRDX
What radios do you own?: Too many

Re: Maxtrac RSS Questions

Post by PETNRDX »

Surprised no one else has chimed in.
Welcome to the board.
Keep looking and you really should be able to find the MAXTRAC RSS out in the wild.
LAB might be a little harder to find, but it is out there.
You will need an old computer or a lot of luck.
MAXTRAC is pretty forgiving compared to some RSS.
Will work on most PENTIUM class stuff with some effort.
Steve K.
jhooten

Post by jhooten »

Out of curiosity what are the planned use for the Maxtracs?
jdownj
New User