APX6000 Programming feature ?

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
ces911
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:41 pm
What radios do you own?: APX8000,NX5210

APX6000 Programming feature ?

Post by ces911 »

Hi all, I am trying to figure out how to program the Conventional RSSI to display on my screen like most radios display. Can someone direct me.???

I also had a question on Vmute as well, Does this mute the transmission when you activate this or only for Quick call kind of stuff...???
I monitor my PM's, So I should reply fairly quick...
User avatar
crazyboy
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:29 am

Re: APX6000 Programming feature ?

Post by crazyboy »

Its on the conventional personality screen.
User avatar
ces911
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:41 pm
What radios do you own?: APX8000,NX5210

Re: APX6000 Programming feature ?

Post by ces911 »

crazyboy wrote:Its on the conventional personality screen.

I checked it off and set the timer to 255 but its not showing the bars on the screen..
I monitor my PM's, So I should reply fairly quick...
User avatar
spectragod
Posts: 2020
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: FPP 6 meter XTL 5K's

Re: APX6000 Programming feature ?

Post by spectragod »

It will only work on a p25 channel or personality.
Kilgore: Smell that? You smell that?
Lance: What?
Kilgore: Napalm, son. Nothing in the world smells like that.
Kilgore: I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for 12 hours. When it was all over, I walked up. We didn't find one of 'em, not one stinkin' dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like... victory. Someday this war's gonna end...

____________
Revelation 6:8
User avatar
ces911
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:41 pm
What radios do you own?: APX8000,NX5210

Re: APX6000 Programming feature ?

Post by ces911 »

spectragod wrote:It will only work on a p25 channel or personality.

Oh ok. It says conventional RSSI and if let's me check it off. I even checked the help of the CPS and if says conventional.
I monitor my PM's, So I should reply fairly quick...
User avatar
spectragod
Posts: 2020
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: FPP 6 meter XTL 5K's

Re: APX6000 Programming feature ?

Post by spectragod »

ces911 wrote:
spectragod wrote:It will only work on a p25 channel or personality.

Oh ok. It says conventional RSSI and if let's me check it off. I even checked the help of the CPS and if says conventional.
Conventional digital channel, not a conventional analog channel.
Kilgore: Smell that? You smell that?
Lance: What?
Kilgore: Napalm, son. Nothing in the world smells like that.
Kilgore: I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for 12 hours. When it was all over, I walked up. We didn't find one of 'em, not one stinkin' dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like... victory. Someday this war's gonna end...

____________
Revelation 6:8
User avatar
ces911
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:41 pm
What radios do you own?: APX8000,NX5210

Re: APX6000 Programming feature ?

Post by ces911 »

spectragod wrote:
ces911 wrote:
spectragod wrote:It will only work on a p25 channel or personality.

Oh ok. It says conventional RSSI and if let's me check it off. I even checked the help of the CPS and if says conventional.
Conventional digital channel, not a conventional analog channel.


Thank you.. Makes sense..
I monitor my PM's, So I should reply fairly quick...
sjxts3000
No Longer Registered
Posts: 958
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm

Re: APX6000 Programming feature ?

Post by sjxts3000 »

It doesn't need to be digital channel. It works for conventional analog as well, however, there's no "signal bars" meter at the top left like on a trunking system. When not in scan mode, it'll show an RSSI number, but unless you have the conversion memorized, it's relatively useless.
This thread on the other site details it.
https://communications.support/threads/ ... ional-RSSI
User avatar
ces911
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:41 pm
What radios do you own?: APX8000,NX5210

Re: APX6000 Programming feature ?

Post by ces911 »

sjxts3000 wrote:It doesn't need to be digital channel. It works for conventional analog as well, however, there's no "signal bars" meter at the top left like on a trunking system. When not in scan mode, it'll show an RSSI number, but unless you have the conversion memorized, it's relatively useless.
This thread on the other site details it.
https://communications.support/threads/ ... ional-RSSI

Thanks Man..
I monitor my PM's, So I should reply fairly quick...
Post Reply

Return to “Radio Programming”