Aftermarket RIBs and programming cables any good?

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

wwhitby

Aftermarket RIBs and programming cables any good?

Post by wwhitby »

I'm new to owning Motorola HTs - I bought my first one, an HT600 last night. Eventually, i'd like to purchase a RIB and programming cable to program it myself (as well as purchase the software from Motorola, of course.)

In doing research, i've noticed that some aftermarked RIB and cables don't work too well. Does anyone have a recommendation for an aftermarket RIB and cable that will work with an HT600?

Thanks,

Warren
k2hz

Post by k2hz »

I have used a Polaris PA-1 RIB and their HT600 cable for many years with excellent results.

http://www.polarisradio.com/
Bat2way

Post by Bat2way »

Same here. I would suggest making up your own cables. Plenty of spare parts out there to do it.
wwhitby

Post by wwhitby »

Has anyone used one of radiostew's RIBs with an HT600?

Thanks,

Warren
tvsjr

Post by tvsjr »

Note: Some are good and some are bad.

I've used a Polaris RIB for many years without problems. When I got my hands on some ProRadio models, I ordered one of their Waris cables. It programmed fine... much to my chagrin, they didn't bother to include the boot control line, so you can't flash with them. I ended up ordering a genuine M, at about the same price.
kc7gr
What radios do you own?: Motorola, Icom, Sunair (HF).

They work fine -- IF...

Post by kc7gr »

...They're done right.

Aftermarket hardware can be just as good (if not better) than an RLN4008.