Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Bootloader mode on an XTL5000 W4

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

alannerd614
New User
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 6:46 am

Bootloader mode on an XTL5000 W4

Postby alannerd614 » Wed Jul 23, 2008 7:35 am

Hello again everyone,

I know on an XTS2k / 5k you hold the PTT and EMER and turn it on, to put it into bootloader mode.

Is there a way with the XTL5k W4?

alannerd614
New User
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 6:46 am

Re: Bootloader mode on an XTL5000 W4

Postby alannerd614 » Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:32 pm

Nothing?

Wow. Hope I am not asking a stupid question.

Hightower
Posts: 976
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Bootloader mode on an XTL5000 W4

Postby Hightower » Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:39 pm

alannerd614 wrote:Nothing?

Wow. Hope I am not asking a stupid question.


I'm awaiting an answer as well. Dunno myself

alannerd614
New User
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 6:46 am

Re: Bootloader mode on an XTL5000 W4

Postby alannerd614 » Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:55 pm

bump

khw
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:51 am
What radios do you own?: Quantars, Quantros, APX, XTS..

Re: Bootloader mode on an XTL5000 W4

Postby khw » Thu Jul 31, 2008 8:07 pm

Well, I looked in the XTL5000 detailed service manual and it says:

"The radio is placed in a bootstrap mode whenever the programming cable is inserted into either the control-head microphone connector (P104) or the remote-mount interconnect board data connector (P506). This cable applies SW_B+ to the MIC_HI line (J0401-4), which forward biases Q0404 and asserts the CABLE_DET* input low to the Patriot microprocessor."

It goes into more detail and describes which cable to use with which model radio (High Power, Mid Power, etc.).

Hope that helps, can't say I've ever done it. It's section 3.8.12 of the manual.
Kevin

alannerd614
New User
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 6:46 am

Re: Bootloader mode on an XTL5000 W4

Postby alannerd614 » Fri Aug 01, 2008 7:03 am

Excellent thanks


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests