Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

gm300/maxtrac audio

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

anautofix
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:09 am

gm300/maxtrac audio

Postby anautofix » Sun May 31, 2009 11:46 am

Is there any adjustmwent in the RSS or on the board where I can make the audio have more base and less treble??? I have several of these radios and they all sound tinney. Thx.....

Will
Posts: 6823
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: gm300/maxtrac audio

Postby Will » Sun May 31, 2009 12:58 pm

The capacitors in the audio section may have dried up.

Have you tried a different speaker?

anautofix
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:09 am

Re: gm300/maxtrac audio

Postby anautofix » Sun May 31, 2009 1:20 pm

My apologies....I should have been more clear. I meant transmit audio not receive audio.

Jim202
Posts: 3569
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: gm300/maxtrac audio

Postby Jim202 » Sun May 31, 2009 2:48 pm

Change one or more of the TX audio coupling caps.

Jim



anautofix wrote:My apologies....I should have been more clear. I meant transmit audio not receive audio.

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7339
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: gm300/maxtrac audio

Postby wavetar » Mon Jun 01, 2009 8:07 am

The following modification is on the main Batlabs site, and applies to the Maxtrac:

http://www.batlabs.com/maxaudio.html

It doesn't mention GM300, but with a service manual the similar circuit could be found & played with as well.

Todd
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

Mraudio
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:48 am
What radios do you own?: Quantar/AS/A-spec./VertexP25

Re: gm300/maxtrac audio

Postby Mraudio » Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:12 am

Try swapping the mic and checking your Deviation settings as well. You may be in limiting causing crappy audio, or both.

lancerice
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:43 am
What radios do you own?: GM300's, GM350's, Visar's

Re: gm300/maxtrac audio

Postby lancerice » Sat Jun 30, 2012 4:16 am

Hello, I am having the same problem with a GM300 the tx audio is very loud and tinney, if you talk too loud or too close to the mic on higher pitch notes it cuts in and out off tx, would lowering the deviation settings cure this???
thanks lance

anautofix
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:09 am

Re: gm300/maxtrac audio

Postby anautofix » Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:40 am

I would check where it is right now. I also ran into some mikes that the element dried out so bad it sounded worse than a pulse dialing telephone. I would check the deviation level first. Then, if you have or can borrow one, switch the mike to a known good sounding mike. Hope that helps. Good Luck!!!


lancerice wrote:Hello, I am having the same problem with a GM300 the tx audio is very loud and tinney, if you talk too loud or too close to the mic on higher pitch notes it cuts in and out off tx, would lowering the deviation settings cure this???
thanks lance


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest