Multiple QCII tone sets in 1 channel.

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

firerescueluke
New User

Multiple QCII tone sets in 1 channel.

Post by firerescueluke »

Hello, I am still new to programming features in radios.
From what I have read it looks like you can only have 1 set of QCII tones per channel. Am I missing something or is there a way to have one channel alert on 2 sets of tones.
Example: Someone works for 2 agencies that are dispatched on the same frequency. Each agency has its own tones. Does the radio have to have 2 channels set up on the dispatch frequency to alert for each department? Or can you somehow program both depts tones into one channel?

Thanks
Bill_G

Re: Multiple QCII tone sets in 1 channel.

Post by Bill_G »

What model of radidio?
firerescueluke
New User

Post by firerescueluke »

Sorry, forgot to mention that! Motorola HT-750/1250, CP-200, XTS-1500
escomm
Queue Moderator

Post by escomm »

Set up call format as A-B / C-D. A-B is first set of tones and C-D is second set of tunes.
firerescueluke
New User

Post by firerescueluke »

Thanks for your prompt reply. I wondered if that would work, but thought I would ask the experts! Thanks again
firerescueluke
New User

Post by firerescueluke »

To test this out, I set my radio (Moto XTS 1500) up with my rescue squad tones in A-B, and the fire dept in C-D. This setup would not alert on the A-B tones. Any ideas?