Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

MTX8000 3 position switch question

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

John G
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2001 4:00 pm

MTX8000 3 position switch question

Postby John G » Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:08 am

I just acquired a couple of clean MTX8000 B3's and I want to program the 3 position switch to act as a zone switch so I can have a total of 48 conventional frequencies. So far, the software doesn't seem to want to let me do this. Is there an easy way to do this? Or, can I not have 48 conventional channels? Also, scan seems limited to 8 channels. Is that correct?

Spiffy50
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:37 am

Re: MTX8000 3 position switch question

Postby Spiffy50 » Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:50 am

Your codeplug might be set for 16 modes. Have a look at that and see what it says.

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7335
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: MTX8000 3 position switch question

Postby wavetar » Fri Nov 04, 2011 12:03 pm

B3's are pretty well exclusively 16 channel units, and I believe only 10 of those could be conventional. There were some that were capable of Type II trunking, and they were capable of 48 channels with the switch...but I believe they had "F3" in the model, though they appeared to be B3's otherwise.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

John G
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: MTX8000 3 position switch question

Postby John G » Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:01 am

Yes, it does appear to be 16 channels. This field can't be edited either. Is the codeplug encrypted like the trunked Visars? I would imagine so. Would it be possible to force an MT2000 codeplug into it? They are 48 channel. I really don't actually need 48 channels. I just thought it would be nice. These radios seem to have been conventional in their former life. There is just the bare minimum of trunked data in them and the system ID is 001.

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7335
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: MTX8000 3 position switch question

Postby wavetar » Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:55 pm

John G wrote:Yes, it does appear to be 16 channels. This field can't be edited either. Is the codeplug encrypted like the trunked Visars? I would imagine so. Would it be possible to force an MT2000 codeplug into it? They are 48 channel. I really don't actually need 48 channels. I just thought it would be nice. These radios seem to have been conventional in their former life. There is just the bare minimum of trunked data in them and the system ID is 001.


Yes, it's possible to jam a 48 channel MT2000/MTS2000 codeplug into them & it'll work. Tuning caveats apply, of course.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

John G
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: MTX8000 3 position switch question

Postby John G » Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:56 am

Thanks for that information. I'll have to try it as soon as time permits.


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest