MTS2000 CPS to 900 Amateur

This forum is for the discussions targeted at converting various models of Motorola equipment to operate in the 900MHz Amateur Band.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
JustinMoon205
Posts: 287
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:11 pm
What radios do you own?: XTS3K, 5K, GP280, AstroSpectra

MTS2000 CPS to 900 Amateur

Post by JustinMoon205 »

Trying to get the latest version of CPS to work with 900 amateur frequencies and just coming up with NOTHING. I have done this before with the RSS and it was simple and I got it done easily. Not having any luck with the CPS.

Does anyone have the exact values I need to search for? Or better yet, the location of those so I can change them?

I have tried looking for the band limits, and not having any luck.

Thanks,

-Justin
Archbishop, Church of /\/\otorola.
saberjerk
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: MTS2000 CPS to 900 Amateur

Post by saberjerk »

Has anyone visited the MTS2000 toolproof problem as of late ??? After searching the only serious stuff was from the Monty ??? RIP BROTHER !!!

There is a lot of MTS2000 CPS and RSS bandsplit mods on here and other sites.
Look here: http://www.batlabs.com/mtsx.html and here: http://www.qsl.net/kb9mwr/projects/900mhz/plan.html
here: http://www.akardam.net/moto/docs/cps_oob.php and here: http://wiki.radioreference.com/index.ph ... edi_Series
User avatar
tuckerm
Posts: 561
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:21 pm

Re: MTS2000 CPS to 900 Amateur

Post by tuckerm »

saberjerk wrote:Has anyone visited the MTS2000 toolproof problem as of late ??? After searching the only serious stuff was from the Monty ??? RIP BROTHER !!!

There is a lot of MTS2000 CPS and RSS bandsplit mods on here and other sites.
Look here: http://www.batlabs.com/mtsx.html and here: http://www.qsl.net/kb9mwr/projects/900mhz/plan.html
here: http://www.akardam.net/moto/docs/cps_oob.php and here: http://wiki.radioreference.com/index.ph ... edi_Series
Could you not bump every MTS2000 thread with the same question?
Schrodinger's Radio: It is simultaneously too loud and too quiet, but you will never know which until someone transmits.
saberjerk
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: MTS2000 CPS to 900 Amateur

Post by saberjerk »

there is a lot of info on hacking the bandsplit of the mts2000 rss and cps
A.E.C
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:21 pm

Re: MTS2000 CPS to 900 Amateur

Post by A.E.C »

I have MTSX for 900 programming of my MTX9000.
The CP needs to be edited for use in the band, then the VCO has to be played with as some radios do not like to work on 927.500, or have issues with a typical ham split.

I have a working copy of the edited version that works well, and is stable.
Mine functions perfectly in direct and repeater mode...old radio, but stable, and plenty of channels for everything. (Model III)

FOr best performance, use the service section in MTSX, as you have access to every necessary function to align and tune the entire radio, not just the TX/RX sections, but the VCO, bandwidth and a lot more....very handy!

A.E.C
Number 6
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 10:55 am

Re: MTS2000 CPS to 900 Amateur

Post by Number 6 »

Open MTS2000.exe or MCS2000.exe using Hex Workshop.

Use the replace command to look for the following hex strings, and then replace them with the provided strings. Make sure you are searching for hex values.

RX Lower Limit / TX TA Lower Limit
935.0125 = 9428BB37
Change to
926.0000 = 80A33137 or 927.0000 = C0E54037
Replace command should report changes in two places


TX RPT Upper Limit
901.9875 = AC3CC335
Change to
903.0000 = C0AFD235 or 903.9875 = 2CC1E135
Replace command should report changes in one place

Save your work (making a backup copy when prompted is recommended), then close Hex Workshop. Open your CPS software and confirm that you can now enter frequencies within the ham band without the software flagging them as invalid. If you can, then you’re all set! If not, delete your existing MTS2000.exe or MCS2000.exe, then rename the extension of your MTS2000.bak or MCS2000.bak file that you created to .exe, then try again.
Post Reply

Return to “Converting Motorola Equipment to 900MHz Amateur”