CPS and Windows 10 error/help?!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
fchrist16
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Desktrac, XTL/XTS's & XPR's

CPS and Windows 10 error/help?!

Post by fchrist16 »

Okay, so Windows just pushed a new update for Win10 and now CPS doesn't want to work. I get an Error #1646 when trying to open CPS. I've gone through all the online posts and tried the various tips and tricks to no avail.

Anyone have an idea or run into this yet? Was using R14 Build 738, updated to R15.5 Build 797 with no luck there either...

Regards,

-Frank C.
fchrist16
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Desktrac, XTL/XTS's & XPR's

Re: CPS and Windows 10 error/help?!

Post by fchrist16 »

Just going to bump this in case someone hasn't seen it and has an answer...

Regards,

-Frank C.
fchrist16
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Desktrac, XTL/XTS's & XPR's

Re: CPS and Windows 10 error/help?!

Post by fchrist16 »

For reference...This is what comes up in Event Viewer General tab for the CPS error when I look to it for help.

1646, RMCLI, FNE_FAILED_GETHOSTID,
at commonLicensing.HostID.getNewHostID(String AppType)
at SfcLicenseManager.CLicenseManager..ctor()
at mototrbocps.CMainFrame..ctor(String A_0, Boolean A_1, CResourceHandler A_2, ILanguageSettings A_3, IPersistentApplicationSettings A_4, String A_5, i A_6, SoftwareSystemKeyManager A_7, CMultiSelectHelper A_8)
at custom_exception.CCustomException.Rethrow(Exception ex)
at mototrbocps.CMainFrame..ctor(String A_0, Boolean A_1, CResourceHandler A_2, ILanguageSettings A_3, IPersistentApplicationSettings A_4, String A_5, i A_6, SoftwareSystemKeyManager A_7, CMultiSelectHelper A_8)
at mototrbocps.CMainFrame.a(String[] A_0)


Regards,

-Frank C.
JPOPatents
Posts: 304
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 7:36 pm

Re: CPS and Windows 10 error/help?!

Post by JPOPatents »

It looks like the Macrovision licensing manager that CPS uses is broken.
-John
fchrist16
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Desktrac, XTL/XTS's & XPR's

Re: CPS and Windows 10 error/help?!

Post by fchrist16 »

Perhaps a re-boot of the Macrovision app then? Anyone know where I can download it...?

Regards,

-Frank C.
JPOPatents
Posts: 304
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 7:36 pm

Re: CPS and Windows 10 error/help?!

Post by JPOPatents »

It's a known problem that should be corrected by reinstalling CPS. There are a few posts, but not many. Before reinstalling CPS, try running CPS as the administrator (right click) and see if that works. If not, then you should try removing CPS and deleting all folders, including hidden folders before reinstalling. That will refresh the Macrovision licensing system that CPS uses. You could also try installing CPS on a different computer and then porting it over to the computer with the problem.
-John
fchrist16
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Desktrac, XTL/XTS's & XPR's

Re: CPS and Windows 10 error/help?!

Post by fchrist16 »

I had done both running as admin and deleting everything and trying over. I found an alternative, less favorable for some, fix. "Resetting" Windows 10 with the KEEP FILES option on did the trick.

Regards,

-Frank C.
Post Reply

Return to “MotoTRBO Portables and Mobiles (4xxx/6xxx) 1.0 Series Subscribers”