Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

P25 question

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
zulu
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 8:53 pm
What radios do you own?: Alot but, I always want more!

P25 question

Postby zulu » Tue Jun 27, 2006 3:58 am

Anyone know if a standard Digital CAI compliant, smartzone radio is capable of receiving P25 smartzone trunking?
Or does one have to have the 9600 contrl ch option also?
"Say what you mean, Mean what you say."

tvsjr
Posts: 4118
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:46 am

Postby tvsjr » Tue Jun 27, 2006 6:07 am

Smartzone implies a 3.6Kbps Motorola control channel with P25 digital voice. If that's what you're referring to, then yes, any radio flashed with IMBE and H38 will work great.

If you're referring to the new P25 trunking, with the 9.6Kbps control channel, that's open-standard, then no, you need the 9600 control channel option and specific firmware.

User avatar
zulu
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 8:53 pm
What radios do you own?: Alot but, I always want more!

Postby zulu » Tue Jun 27, 2006 9:13 pm

Ok, that helps, i need to do some more research on the system in question.
Cheers :D
"Say what you mean, Mean what you say."


Return to “Legacy Batboard Motorola ASTRO (VSELP/IMBE/AMBE) Equipment Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests