Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

"If something seems too good..." Problem with my XTS3000 VHF

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
PhillyPhoto
was LuiePL
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:09 am
What radios do you own?: XTS/XTL5000

"If something seems too good..." Problem with my XTS3000 VHF

Postby PhillyPhoto » Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:02 pm

OK, so I guess I'll start at the beginning. Last week I was surfing around eBay and came across a VHF 3000 model III for $210. The person said it had a broken display, which I could see from the photos, and it did turn on. So I figured for $200 bucks a new display and case would be worth the money for a model 3. I bought it, and got it today and it's not performing to the low expectations I had for it.

It does power on and I'm able to read from / write to it without a problem. The buttons are what they should be as far as I can tell. But this isn't my problem. The problem is whatever frequency is programmed in, it is receiving a constant static signal. Most of the channels have PL's, but when I hit monitor it goes right to static. On some it's not even static, it's as if it's receiving a constant open carrier. When I press the button for what should be scan, it has an open carrier every second or two.

From the looks of the radio, it seems like it got run over, but does any one know if this would cause the radio to function in such a manner? Also, would it be a problem with the RF board, the controller or a multitude of items? Lastly, would a trip to motoMEXI fix my woes? If so, what's the flat rate running nowadays. If I do send it down, I would need the display replaced / firmware lifted, so is this something that would be in the "flat rate", or more money?

Thanks for the help guys.
-Luie-

Image

User avatar
n7maq
Posts: 1440
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Mocom 70 w/scan!!

Re: "If something seems too good..." Problem with my XTS3000 VHF

Postby n7maq » Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:31 pm

LuiePL wrote:OK, so I guess I'll start at the beginning. Last week I was surfing around eBay and came across a VHF 3000 model III for $210. The person said it had a broken display, which I could see from the photos, and it did turn on. So I figured for $200 bucks a new display and case would be worth the money for a model 3. I bought it, and got it today and it's not performing to the low expectations I had for it.

It does power on and I'm able to read from / write to it without a problem. The buttons are what they should be as far as I can tell. But this isn't my problem. The problem is whatever frequency is programmed in, it is receiving a constant static signal. Most of the channels have PL's, but when I hit monitor it goes right to static. On some it's not even static, it's as if it's receiving a constant open carrier. When I press the button for what should be scan, it has an open carrier every second or two.

From the looks of the radio, it seems like it got run over, but does any one know if this would cause the radio to function in such a manner? Also, would it be a problem with the RF board, the controller or a multitude of items? Lastly, would a trip to motoMEXI fix my woes? If so, what's the flat rate running nowadays. If I do send it down, I would need the display replaced / firmware lifted, so is this something that would be in the "flat rate", or more money?

Thanks for the help guys.



Most of the time physical damage is T&M, not flate rate.

Have you checked your sql setting?

Good luck,

Jim.

User avatar
PhillyPhoto
was LuiePL
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:09 am
What radios do you own?: XTS/XTL5000

Re: "If something seems too good..." Problem with my XTS3000 VHF

Postby PhillyPhoto » Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:34 pm

The squelch for all the frequencies is set to 6. I wouldn't think this would be too tight.

The boards themselves didn't look damaged, so hopefully it won't be too steep.
-Luie-

Image

User avatar
n7maq
Posts: 1440
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Mocom 70 w/scan!!

Re: "If something seems too good..." Problem with my XTS3000 VHF

Postby n7maq » Wed Aug 15, 2007 8:05 pm

LuiePL wrote:The squelch for all the frequencies is set to 6. I wouldn't think this would be too tight.

The boards themselves didn't look damaged, so hopefully it won't be too steep.


If the boards are not warped, and no dented cans you should be good to go. IIRC the list price of a FR repair is $375.00. That will cover the LCD, housing, firmware update, and any other problems.

Check your global (radio wide) sql setting in the service menu?


Jim

User avatar
PhillyPhoto
was LuiePL
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:09 am
What radios do you own?: XTS/XTL5000

Re: "If something seems too good..." Problem with my XTS3000 VHF

Postby PhillyPhoto » Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:20 pm

n7maq wrote:If the boards are not warped, and no dented cans you should be good to go. IIRC the list price of a FR repair is $375.00. That will cover the LCD, housing, firmware update, and any other problems.

Check your global (radio wide) sql setting in the service menu?


The thing about it is that it's just an open carrier sound. When I should be receiving a transmission, nothing comes through. I'm at work right now, so I can't check any settings in the tuner, but when I got the radio it was doing this before I wrote anything back to the radio.
-Luie-

Image

User avatar
PhillyPhoto
was LuiePL
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:09 am
What radios do you own?: XTS/XTL5000

Re: "If something seems too good..." Problem with my XTS3000 VHF

Postby PhillyPhoto » Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:40 am

Maybe I'm missing something... Where's the "global (radio wide) squelch setting in the service menu"? and how do I change the squelch from there?


This is the info I pulled from the encryption board that came with the radio:

EMC R03.44
KG1 DES-OFB
KG2 DES-XL
-Luie-

Image

RocketNJ
Posts: 584
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: "If something seems too good..." Problem with my XTS3000 VHF

Postby RocketNJ » Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:35 am

If it did indeed get run over then it is possible there is damage to the RF board.


Return to “Legacy Batboard Motorola ASTRO (VSELP/IMBE/AMBE) Equipment Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests