Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

7.70 firmware...does it or does it not....?

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
Pj
Moderator
Posts: 5143
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: X9000 thru APX

7.70 firmware...does it or does it not....?

Postby Pj » Mon Oct 08, 2007 4:46 pm

Ok, I have heard conflicting information on this.

The question of the day is:

Does the XTS3000/Astro Saber 7.70 firmware now require the radio to affilate to a TRS reguardless of system type?
Lowband radio. The original and non-complicated wide area interoperable communications system
Image

User avatar
Josh
Posts: 1926
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: ASpectra+, XTS2.5K, Kenwood NX

Re: 7.70 firmware...does it or does it not....?

Postby Josh » Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:51 am

Pj wrote:Ok, I have heard conflicting information on this.

The question of the day is:

Does the XTS3000/Astro Saber 7.70 firmware now require the radio to affilate to a TRS reguardless of system type?



It does not.

W2GLD
No Longer Registered
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 2:52 pm

Re: 7.70 firmware...does it or does it not....?

Postby W2GLD » Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:58 am

FYI:

I have R07.71.00 in several ASTRO Sabers and XTS3000's and it does not require manditory affiliation either, only the newer series radio require this manditory affiliation type, models such as the XTS5000, XTS2500, MT1550, etc.

bellersley
No Longer Registered
Posts: 872
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 7:03 am

Re: 7.70 firmware...does it or does it not....?

Postby bellersley » Tue Oct 09, 2007 11:47 am

There are ways around the forced affiliation, even on the newest of radios. Yes, this includes 9600 baud systems.

tvsjr
Posts: 4118
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:46 am

Re: 7.70 firmware...does it or does it not....?

Postby tvsjr » Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:31 pm

bellersley wrote:There are ways around the forced affiliation, even on the newest of radios. Yes, this includes 9600 baud systems.


Care to elaborate?

User avatar
Wicho
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 8:15 am
What radios do you own?: Realistic Space Command

Re: 7.70 firmware...does it or does it not....?

Postby Wicho » Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:40 pm

tvsjr wrote:
bellersley wrote:There are ways around the forced affiliation, even on the newest of radios. Yes, this includes 9600 baud systems.


Care to elaborate?

I think he's talking about Elroy's thread on how to set up an XTS5K for scanning w/o affiliation.

Could be wrong, though. It wouldn't be the first time, just ask my wife. :lol:
Vote for Pedro.

Einstein
Posts: 242
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:20 am

Re: 7.70 firmware...does it or does it not....?

Postby Einstein » Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:11 pm

Since I don't have a 9600 baud system locally to try this on, putting the tx inhibit in the display and menu screen, and enabling it, inhibits transmit on a XTS 5000 3600 baud system.

bellersley
No Longer Registered
Posts: 872
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 7:03 am

Re: 7.70 firmware...does it or does it not....?

Postby bellersley » Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:26 pm

tvsjr wrote:Care to elaborate?


Scan Hang Time: 0
Scan TX: Selected Channel

Park yourself on a conventional channel. It'll never get the chance to try and affiliate as it's not on the talkgroup long enough. There's some obvious limitations to this (such as the number of scanlists you can have) but if you're like me and only have one 9600bps system with 3 or 4 talkgroups you care to monitor, it works like a charm.

tvsjr
Posts: 4118
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:46 am

Re: 7.70 firmware...does it or does it not....?

Postby tvsjr » Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:33 pm

bellersley wrote:
tvsjr wrote:Care to elaborate?


Scan Hang Time: 0
Scan TX: Selected Channel

Park yourself on a conventional channel. It'll never get the chance to try and affiliate as it's not on the talkgroup long enough. There's some obvious limitations to this (such as the number of scanlists you can have) but if you're like me and only have one 9600bps system with 3 or 4 talkgroups you care to monitor, it works like a charm.


Have you tried TX Inhibit?

bellersley
No Longer Registered
Posts: 872
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 7:03 am

Re: 7.70 firmware...does it or does it not....?

Postby bellersley » Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:56 pm

On radios like the Astro Saber and XTS3000, you can program both positions on the concentric switch to be TX Inhibit. You can't do that on the 5k however. That's only really an issue on 800MHz. If it's a VHF or UHF system, you can always program bogus frequency information in the TX fields for both the channel ranges and the control channels. However on 800MHz, obviously those input frequencies are "hard coded" in the radio so that's another story.

On an 800MHz radio, you'd need to do some tweaking to make it not TX. You'd have to go into the alignment settings and play with the TX Power until it was negligible. You could also disconnect the PA. However, this would mean the radio wouldn't be TXing anytime soon, but if you never want to it wouldn't be a problem. On my MTS2000, I was able to adjust the TX output power down to the point that it barely registers on a monitor, and another radio can't hear anything from 5 feet away.

The big problem on a 5k radio (regardless of band) is that the radio must always be programmed for Auto-Affiliate. If the radio sits on the talkgroup for even a second after voice traffic, it'll try and affiliate. Even if you have TX Inhibit turned on, the radio's CPU will still "think" it's affiliating so it'll hold off on receiving anything until it's gone through the paces of trying to affiliate even though it isn't. During this time, the radio won't RX anything. This is why having the scan hang-time set to 0 helps, as it drops the radio back to a conventional channel before it has a chance to try and affiliate.


Return to “Legacy Batboard Motorola ASTRO (VSELP/IMBE/AMBE) Equipment Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest