Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Astro Spectra Plus

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

6V6GT
New User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:54 pm

Astro Spectra Plus

Postby 6V6GT » Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:37 pm

I have an Astro Spectra Plus and would like to use it on the 440 MHz ham band. Unlike the normal Astro Spectra radios I am using, it will not take frequencies below 450 MHz. Anyone know of a way to get them in there?

Thanks

Tim
Ask not about things which, if made plain to you, may cause you trouble

User avatar
Mfire39
Moderator
Posts: 1331
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 8:53 am
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: Astro Spectra Plus

Postby Mfire39 » Thu Jan 17, 2008 4:06 pm

Well since the AS plus is in the Astro25 series, then the same out of band CPS edit that applies for the other products of this series also applies with the AS plus.. Look at the link below, and follow the post... It will point you in the right direction..

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=74370&hilit=XTL+out+of+band


-Marc
Stupidity creates job security!

If your radio has old firmware, programming it with the latest CPS will not add any new features unless you have the latest firmware to match..

CPS = Customer Programming Software, Not CPS Software.

6V6GT
New User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:54 pm

Re: Astro Spectra Plus

Postby 6V6GT » Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:40 am

Thanks- that did it.


Tim
Ask not about things which, if made plain to you, may cause you trouble

motorola_otaku
Posts: 1854
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am

Re: Astro Spectra Plus

Postby motorola_otaku » Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:30 pm

Will a 450-482 Astro Spectra Plus do IMBE below 450 with just a bandsplit hack, or do you have to jack with the alignment?

6V6GT
New User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:54 pm

Re: Astro Spectra Plus

Postby 6V6GT » Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:46 pm

Mine started out as a 403-430 MHz radio. I changed the RF board and had the bandsplit changed. Alignment was part of the process. This one talked to my portable on IMBE on 442.600 MHz which is our P25 repeater frequency, here in Raleigh, NC. It was on T/A so it was actually on 442.600 and not the input at 447.600.

I'll try the repeater over the weekend- got a little programming to do first.


Tim
Ask not about things which, if made plain to you, may cause you trouble

User avatar
Mfire39
Moderator
Posts: 1331
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 8:53 am
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: Astro Spectra Plus

Postby Mfire39 » Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:57 pm

I've got an XTL5K UHF high split that will do IMBE down to about 442-ish with just a band limit edit and nothing else... The AS Plus "should" also..

I have seen some Astro25 radios that go out of band better than others though.. Might be the luck of the draw, as far as how low you can take a specific unit out of band in IMBE..

-Marc
Stupidity creates job security!

If your radio has old firmware, programming it with the latest CPS will not add any new features unless you have the latest firmware to match..

CPS = Customer Programming Software, Not CPS Software.

User avatar
Josh
Posts: 1926
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: ASpectra+, XTS2.5K, Kenwood NX

Re: Astro Spectra Plus

Postby Josh » Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:13 pm

Mfire39 wrote:I've got an XTL5K UHF high split that will do IMBE down to about 442-ish with just a band limit edit and nothing else... The AS Plus "should" also..

I have seen some Astro25 radios that go out of band better than others though.. Might be the luck of the draw, as far as how low you can take a specific unit out of band in IMBE..

-Marc



The astro spectra plus, like the astro spectra and regular spectra will not TX or RX that low... you'll get the FAIL001 unless you add to the VCO using a conductive pen.

I've gotten mine to work on analog into the 440 band (a 450-482 ast0r spectra made from an analog one), but astro does not work on TX, but then again the radio needs an alignment anyway.

6V6GT
New User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:54 pm

Re: Astro Spectra Plus

Postby 6V6GT » Sat Jan 19, 2008 6:55 am

OK- the repeater doesn't like the IMBE from the Plus. I can decode it on a portable on 442 without issue. But the repeater isn't wild about it. I looked at the tuner application that I have and the lowest frequency it uses is 458 MHz. I have seen another version which had a lower frequency in the adjustment area and have heard tales that the upper one just can't go far enough for IMBE to be reliable. Among the collection are 3 regular Astro Spectras and they all work flawlessly to 442 MHz.

Anyone tried hacking the tuner application?


Tim
Ask not about things which, if made plain to you, may cause you trouble

Mraudio
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:48 am
What radios do you own?: Quantar/AS/A-spec./VertexP25

Re: Astro Spectra Plus

Postby Mraudio » Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:42 am

Tim, What model are you using that works in the 440 range? I just got a w4 450-480 factory IMBE spectra that as soon as you go below 450 no more useable audio (analog is way low too)
I cant seem to find a way to bump the audio, my CPS tuner wont go lower than 450.025 The radio puts out great power and has great recieve .15uv the sql opens, decodes digital fine.
D04RKF9PW4AN Is what I have with 580001-01000-8

Thanks
Jeff

6V6GT
New User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:54 pm

Re: Astro Spectra Plus

Postby 6V6GT » Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:55 pm

Mine was a 403-430 that had the RF board changed. It was then aligned by a gentleman that had done a number of Astro Spectras for us. This one is not happy though- still. I haven't had much time to mess with it so it's still waiting.


Tim
Ask not about things which, if made plain to you, may cause you trouble


Return to “Legacy Batboard Motorola ASTRO (VSELP/IMBE/AMBE) Equipment Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest