Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Text Messaging issues between mobile and portable

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Text Messaging issues between mobile and portable

Postby jmr061 » Tue Mar 18, 2008 6:22 pm

Radios involved > XTS5000 Model 3 VHF and XTL5000 O3 VHF

Working on doing text messaging through a quantar repeater that has RDLAP enabled.

XTS to XTL ---> Messages go through fine and XTL sends ack. to XTS

XTL to XTS ---> Messages fail, nothing on XTS end

Any ideas as to why it would send one way but not the other?

Jason

Hightower
Posts: 976
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Text Messaging issues between mobile and portable

Postby Hightower » Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:58 pm

If the XTS works sending to the XTL, that means the Quantar is most likely set-up properly. What else is left? Radio programming..... Check your IP address just too be sure nothing is conflecting. Try setting the two radios IP's within the same range (not sure the techinical term for this). Radio 1 IP is 10.10.10.05, radio 2 IP is 10.10.10.6 - you get the point....

Akerdam has a great setup guide for doing this. I'd double check all your TMS settings in BOTH radios, as I'd bet Compuman81's right hand that one or more TMS settings are incorrect.

good luck
8)

User avatar
Wowbagger
Aeroflex
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:46 am

Re: Text Messaging issues between mobile and portable

Postby Wowbagger » Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:05 am

Hightower wrote:ITry setting the two radios IP's within the same range (not sure the techinical term for this). Radio 1 IP is 10.10.10.05, radio 2 IP is 10.10.10.6 - you get the point....


The term you are looking for is "subnet" - you need to insure that the netmask is set correctly.

The netmask will be a value like "255.255.0.0" or "255.0.0.0". The radios' IP addresses MUST NOT differ in any octet where the netmask has a non-zero value - in other words if the netmask is 255.255.0.0, the first 2 octets of the radios' IP addresses must be the same.

(this is a grievous oversimplification, but close enough to answer the questions at hand - I'm not going into all the intricacies of CIDR, default gateways, and IP routing before finishing the first cup of coffee of the day.)
This is my opinion, not Aeroflex's.

I WILL NOT give you proprietary information. I make too much money to jeopardize my job.

I AM NOT the Service department: You want official info, manuals, service info, parts, calibration, etc., contact Aeroflex directly, please.

jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Text Messaging issues between mobile and portable

Postby jmr061 » Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:51 am

IP's are set properly. I don't believe that is the issue. Already discussed things with Akardam. We are at a loss.

Jason

jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Text Messaging issues between mobile and portable

Postby jmr061 » Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:09 am

Update: change things over to direct TMS and I have the SAME issue.

Anyone got a mobile and portable talking to each other on TMS in direct?

Jason

User avatar
GEMOTO
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:15 pm

Re: Text Messaging issues between mobile and portable

Postby GEMOTO » Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:24 am

Does one or both radios have recent firmware? Is one older than the other? Double check your display/menu settings to make sure, message display times, alternating display times etc are ok.

akardam
Posts: 2251
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 10:53 am

Re: Text Messaging issues between mobile and portable

Postby akardam » Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:49 am

GEMOTO wrote:Does one or both radios have recent firmware? Is one older than the other? Double check your display/menu settings to make sure, message display times, alternating display times etc are ok.

Other than making sure the TMS button or menu is assigned, this has absolutely nothing to do with display timers.

User avatar
Cipher77
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 10:02 am

Re: Text Messaging issues between mobile and portable

Postby Cipher77 » Fri Mar 21, 2008 8:41 am

KB9KST wrote:Update: change things over to direct TMS and I have the SAME issue.

Anyone got a mobile and portable talking to each other on TMS in direct?

Jason


Hey Jason,

PM Me -- I do!!

cipher

jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Text Messaging issues between mobile and portable

Postby jmr061 » Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:30 am

Does anyone have two XTS5000 portables taking to each other on TMS. If you do contact me. I have two portables and can't get them to talk to each other either. Something is wrong with my setup and I need to find out what.

Thanks

Jason

f1shs
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:57 am

Re: Text Messaging issues between mobile and portable

Postby f1shs » Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:15 pm

I have also the same issue.

But it works only one time, and after nothing.

I dont understand why


Return to “Legacy Batboard Motorola ASTRO (VSELP/IMBE/AMBE) Equipment Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest